We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for a great stay!”
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Albuquerque
1 review
“Thanks for a great stay!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Plantation Suites for corporate meetings. The hotel was great. The meeting space was a good size for our group, and had everything we needed. The staff was always warm and cheerful, and had a smile and a kind attitude toward everyone. In the evenings, the beach was a short and pleasant 3 block walk or so. The breakfast in the morning was good, with a hot item rotated daily so there was some variety. I found the rooms to be comfortable, and slept really well in their beds. I would absolutely return, and recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: The Palm Suite is great for couples. Huge king size bed and lots of room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGlynn009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are so glad you found your stay with us a positive one. We have many functions here at the property due to the wonderful Conference Room here. We enjoy our Corporate and Leisure travelers and look forward to making their stay and event the best ever. We hope you and your company will come back and see us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    104
    56
    24
    23
See reviews for
148
89
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights and would have to start off by saying how impressed I was with the General Manager. Not only did He greet me upon check in he was always visible and made sure his guests had everything they needed. The breakfast was amazing real eggs, hash browns, sausage, biscuits and gravy, perfect in every way. This was above what I was used to, the staff was very friendly and made me feel very at home while I was away. My room was very spacious with two queen beds the AC worked like a charm. They had a wonderful market in the office when I could grad a late night snack. I made my way to the beach several times and is easy enough to walk. The pool was heated and the Hot tub was hot, both very enjoyable and what a spectacular place to relax or work on business. This was my first stay at this property and I know where I will be going for my next business trip. I have already started planning my vacation at the Plantation. A perfect stop for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew-B2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We sure thank you for taking the time to write such a good review for our property. Our number one focus is to assure all of our guest the most outstanding experience, both here at the property and on the terrific little island we call home. We look forward to seeing you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

quiet, relaxing getaway with the hubs. very friendly front desk staff! great breakfast!......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drtondre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for our property. We are delighted your experience with us was a positive one and we do look forward to you coming back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We also visited this hotel with a Groupon as a get-away. It is in a convenient location to everything. Found out that there were many folks staying for a month or more getting away from Winter in the north. These people were very friendy and said they were happy with the long term rates - especially considering the nice included breakfasts. Think they have a lot of repeat guests.
I agree that the front desk lady's were a bright spot. Have we stayed at nicer places? Yes. Have stayed at Day's Inns and Super 8's that were on a par. Some areas of the building exterior could stand a power washing.
Possibly because of the sand instead of soil, floors were all tile. Room was comfortable. Glad to have a refrigerator, and microwave. It is a pet friendly hotel, but beware, the green areas surrounding the hotel are full of sand burrs - not very pet paw friendly.
Would we stay there again? Probably

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We are so pleased that your stay with us was a positive one and appreciate the kind review. We have many guests who stay with us for extended stays and we appreciate them as well as our short term guests. As you mentioned, we are in the process of power washing the exterior of the property as the salt air and sand are a constant issue. We hope you will be one of our "returning guests" and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We purchased a Groupon for this hotel for a little get-away from San Antonio.
We liked the size of the room. It was OK as far as comfort. The staff was fantastic, the lady's at the front desk are great! The breakfast was good, big crowd there. It was a very good location.
For the price it was a good value!!!!
Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pfuntner1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
We are delighted your stay with us was a positive and pleasant one. We take great pride in ensuring the utmost quality and customer satisfaction from all of our guests. And appreciate you taking the time the write this nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I were traveling to Port Aransas for a quick fishing trip. We are avid fishermen and really use the room for a few hours sleep. At first glance the room was very nice. Then as we looked into it more we noticed how unclean it was. We had a cockroach in our bathroom, which this time of year and being on the first floor was SOMEWHAT understandable. It seemed as though they had just sprayed. We did not notice an abundance of bugs around the property and everything else seemed OK. There were toys left under the couch from another guests stay (We found them as we were checking to make sure we had all of our belongings.) The staff is VERY friendly and helpful, but for the price we feel like we can find another hotel that may be cleaner. We chose not to call the front desk, as we got in very late and were leaving very early. We didn't want to pack up and move to another room for the short time we were in there. The complimentary breakfast is very good and like I said, the staff is VERY friendly. I did notice they were looking to hire housekeepers....maybe this is why the cleanliness is slacking. Either way, the cleaning should still be taken up a notch to match the great staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LillieRTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property. We do apologize that the room was not cleaned to your satisfaction and most definitely not to our standards. We take all reviews quite seriously and have addressed the issues you mentioned with our housekeeping staff. We sincerely hope you will come back to Plantation Suites for a most enjoyable trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, On
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We were so excited to stay here on a little mini getaway. The room was a complete let down. The bathtub was stained and moldy and we had them find us another room, bathroom was worse and they agreed to clean it up for us while we were out. When we came back there were globs of fresh caulking in various spots on the tub and still alot of mold and hair. We called the desk and asked for the manager. She came and was amazingly helpful and moved us to their suite. I suspect this was the only one with a semi clean bathroom. To top it off we went to have a hot tub and it was smelly and water was green. Staff is friendly but housekeeping and maintenance was very poor.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JimandJoan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken in writing your review, however, we are very dismayed by your un pleasant experience here. We take all reviews seriously and have taken the necessary steps to correct the problems which you have mentioned. Plantation Suites strives on being the absolutely best we can and want all of our valued guests to have a good experience at our property. We do hope you will come back and let us show you the hospitality and comfort you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
445 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.1 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#17 of 20 in Port Aransas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing