We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, I guess You get what you pay for...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plantation Suites
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Well, I guess You get what you pay for...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was a Groupon promotion, and we "bought it"... I am starting to feel we should no longer buy into the Groupon travel promotions as their properties they promote are pretty mediocre. I had been led to believe that the Grupons properties being promoted were trying to generate business, but, not this way...) The towels for the bathroom were small, thin and stained. There was no DVD player (and we had just rented dvd's for the cold/wet days were to relax watching with my husband who only comes in from the Middle East two times a year.... When I called the front desk and asked if they had loaner, she said yes. I went down to the office and then she notified me that it was at a cost of $10.00/ night. This was the cheapest DVD player i had ever seen, the kind you can BUY at Wal-Mart for $20 or LESS!! The Tub had hair in it and scum stains. The bathroom floor and tile baseboards need a good cleaning. The air does not have a setting to keep the fan running (white noise) so as to block out all of the noise above and next to you

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarakkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write a review for Plantation Suites. We take all reviews seriously as they are a tool for us for improvements and suggestions. We do apologize if the towells were not up to your expectations. We provide DVD players to our guests at a cost and believe that they are the best suited for the rooms. You were refunded the amount of the DVD player for your frustrations, and again, we do apologize. We take great pride in our hotel and Military personnell have a special meaning for us, as many of us come from Military backgrounds. We do hope you will come back again and the experience will be up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    89
    47
    23
    21
See reviews for
127
76
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cypress
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If your staying somewhere because you want to take your pets along this is the place for you. If you want a little more upscale than a Motel this is NOT the place for you. All tile floors which is nice and the mini fridge cooled ok...... the whole stay was just OK.

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on the palm suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natcunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to write a review for our property. We strongly believe that tile flooring is much more condusive to the coastal area and for allowing pets in our rooms, and we love having pets here. It is unfortunate that you feal your stay here was just OK as we strive for a wonderful experience for all of our guests. We acknowledge the feed back we recieve from our guests as this helps us and our guests receive the best possible experience allowed. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bertram, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My mom and I were here in July, it was so nice I came back for Thanksgiving! Absolutley the most pet friendly for a reasonable price. Web site says dogs need to be in a kennel if alone in the room, however if you put your do not disturb sign up they can wait for you and not be kenneled, that was great for my 2 little pups who are used to waiting for me on the couch! Rooms were clean and roomy and the breakast was yummy :0) You also get free drinks and dog treats at check-in.I will be returning as often as I can! It is very cose to the beach.

Room Tip: King suites have jacquizzi tub, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We are so glad your stay here at Plantation Suites was enjoyable and we are thrilled you came back again at Thanksgiving. We welcome pets here as we are all pet lovers (and owners)! We strive to make our property as "home like" and "family friendly" as possible, to ensure the most comfort for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Our family decided to take a last minute trip to the beach - we were able to get a great price for a weekend stay. The hotel is overall clean, friendly staff and in a very central location. As someone who travels often, I would say this is somewhere between a Super 8 and a Holiday Inn Express.Overall great stay for the price!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvaMaxMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for Plantation Suites. We appreciate you choosing us and writing such a nice review. We believe our location is just right for those who want to be out of town, but only just a few minutes away. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahtomedi
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent one night. The room was large and clean. The staff were very friendly. When we registered we were given the option of 2 free beverages. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is only about a mile from the beach. Very nice beach. The hot tub was great and so was the pool. Beds were comfortable. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rainey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We are so pleased your stay with us was a pleasant one. The "Free Drink" promotion is our way of saying "thank you" for your businesses, as we know there are many options to choose from. We do hope you will come back next time you are visiting the beautiful Texas Gulf Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were referred to the plantation, due to our last minute need and Large Lab Pup. They had great rooms available, and were very friendly over the phone and in person. The room was large and clean and a very reasonable price. Nothing bad to say about the plantation, great options for breakfast, hot tub and pool was great also. I want to thank plantation for our wonderful trip. We were going to move on to Chorpus Christi but decided to stay at Plantation. We were nervous about not being near the beach, however the beach is a "drive on Beach" so no need to be on the beach. We were there on our vacation and My boyfriend decided to pop the question at the beach. Now we are planning a wedding and plan to use them again next time we go south!! Thanks again for a wonderful, comfortable vacation!!
sincerely,
Theresa Ventura (future Mrs. Springer)

Room Tip: rooms on the laft side get morning sun but cool in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theresaann35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, General Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time and writing such a positive review for us. We love pets here and understand how important it is for so may travelers to include their pets in their get-aways. We also want to say "congratulations" on your engagement and hope you will come back to us to help you experience your special day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel room isn't anything amazing - but the room was very clean and large. My mother and I were staying in the room and joked we should have brought some friend with us. The room would easily hold 4 or 6 people. The front desk was nice and gave us complimentary sodas when we checked in (not sure if that was a promotion or generally done). The breakfast was also nice and they had fun rocking chairs outside the rooms that would have been fun to relax in if we had the time. If you are looking for something fancy, this is not the place but if you are looking for good value and space, definitely consider this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank futureconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn S, Manager at Plantation Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are most glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. Weather it be a large family or just a few guests, we strive to make everyones stay the most comfortable and enjoyable. The rocking chairs are a great way to wind down after a busy day of "beaching" and are glad you enjoyed them. We hope you will come back and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.2 mi away
Shark Reef Resort
Shark Reef Resort
#13 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Suites

Property: Plantation Suites
Address: 1909 Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Plantation Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing