We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to Beat the Catch at the Seafood Co.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port A Seafood Co.

Port A Seafood Co.
Ranked #42 of 79 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
231 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat the Catch at the Seafood Co.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great, fresh seafood and temptations such as the BEST remulade sauce I ever had over my crab cakes and temptworthy key lime cheese cake. They won't let you have the recipe for the sauce, but they are sure to give you a chance at terrific crab cakes, large shrimp and fish.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cibolo, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude & Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I expect in a town driven by tourism that establishments would work to make peoples visits pleasurable. The lady behind the counter was extremely rude, I guess because we asked about crawfish (which they do not sell). We would have bought fresh shrimp but it was overpriced at $13 per lb.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeechBumm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect For What We Wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our last night in Port A, we both decided that we were too tired to go out to a restaurant so we stopped at the IGA to get a bottle of cheap wine and some crackers. We then headed to the Port A Seafood Co and got a pound of steamed shrimp to take back to the hotel room.

The shrimp were delicious and the two people who took our order were very friendly. We will definitely come back for more fresh seafood the next time we are on Mustang Island.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Incredibly fresh shrimp - wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stopped in for some fresh shrimp and maybe some crab dip to eat at the hotel. The owner was so friendly having us try her shrimp and ceviche. She boiled up the shrimp for us and packed it on ice. It was wonderful - big, fresh shrimp and homemade cocktail sauce. She only sells it in her store the day it is caught. A true family business with an owner that really cares about customers. I think she said they had been in business 30 years and have 3 shrimp boats. And yes when you walk in it smells like a fish store - I would be concerned if the store smelled any different! Great shop with a friendly owner that really cares. Hope someday to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvBnBs_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“We always buy here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is the place to buy your fresh jumbo Gulf shrimp and blue crab. It has long been our family's place to buy while on vacation and then fill up the cooler on the way home. Prices are reasonable.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Writergal49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port A Seafood Co. also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Port A Seafood Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing