We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great prices!”
Review of Beaches Cafe & Bakery - CLOSED

Beaches Cafe & Bakery
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Opened recently. telephone 361-749-BBQ1 Info (not their website) at http://www.portasouthjetty.com/node/63622 including an ad.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very pleased with the food and beer prices! Even the craft beer were at a very reasonable price. The beef brisket nachos are delicious! Great atmosphere, clean restrooms, great service!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamasculley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    67
    43
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible bakery, exceptional custom ordered cake!!!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I discovered this bakery and went almost everyday to buy the cookies, cupcakes, sweet rolls and pastries. It was wonderful. I called and requested a birthday cake with a coastal theme of edible shells on top and brightly colored fish swimming around it. They were so nice and made the most beautiful and delicious cake!!! It was fabulous looking and tasted amazing. The real thing, like cakes are supposed to be made and rarely are now. It made the birthday so special, thank you for baking such a wonderful cake!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Homershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Average Food, Nice Place”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We visited Beaches on the last night of our trip. It is large, comfortable and we were greeted and felt welcome. Our server went out of his way to offer tastes of their many beers so our decision would be something we liked. We had fried shrimp and german sausage. The shrimp and fries tasted fine but were greasy. The sausage plate was well liked. The coleslaw with pickled onions and cranberry was refreshing and tasty. We took home desserts, mine was an underwhelming key lime pie. I might go back here, but there are better choices in Port A.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvthebeach32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Perfect place for a burger!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted a hamburger during my trip to Port A. This place has a 1/2 lb hamburger and fresh cut fries. The menu was simple which is perfect for families with small children. The hamburger was thick, juicy, and tasty- nothing fancy :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ssuprak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, okay service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Go for the fried calamari if you don't get anything else!! Thick, tender pieces of calamari are battered and fried and served with a fresh tomato marinara. The rest of our food was great too. Our server was a younger guy who was obviously operating on island time, but that's to be expected when you visit the beach. Definitely give it a try!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tgarcia121909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beaches Cafe & Bakery also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing