We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont stay there again manager not friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tropic Island Resort
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Bad park people not friendly, manager or owner rude, had sand no grass and wouldn't let us move,
No handicap facilities at all so couldn't use the pool or spa and wasn't clean had sand all in it anyway

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rwsugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicislandresort, Owner at Tropic Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

I'm sorry that your experience here wasn't a good one. We try hard to please all of our customers. We as well as well as most places here in South Texas have had a shortage of rain therefore grass is in short supply as well. We are working hard at re-sodding the area and hoping for rain! As far as sand in the pool please keep in mind that Port Aransas is an Island and the wind does blow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

After having a nightmare of an experience at another motel in the area, we checked this place out cautiously. I asked to check the room prior to paying for it and the lady at the front desk was very nice and understood. I checked out the room and was quite surprised to see that the room was nice and clean. The property looked like it might be one of the older properties but the room was clean and it did not have any odors. The walls were bright white, linens were white as was the bathroom tiles. I have no complaints. This was a very nice place to stay. The pool was also clean . The entire property looked taken care of and the staff appeared to take pride. Do recommend this place and will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have spent several winters at Tropic Island. We had been to several other resorts before our first winter there. We liked it so much, we have never gone anywhere else. Erlinda and Ken are like family to us. They are always so friendly, and know you by name. It's always nice to be greeted by a friendly hello, as you sit on your patio in the mornings with a cup of coffee. The club house is always open for friends to gather to play cards, games, pot-luck dinners, or a game of pool.I would recommend Tropic Island to anyone that would like to spend time at a clean, friendly resort that is within walking distance of all sorts of fun things to do, and awesome places to eat! We start counting the days from when we leave Tropic Island, till the time we return.....we will be back in 26 days!!!!
Most sincerely, Ann & Tom Bowers

Room Tip: they are all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

very courteous people ,guest too!!! have stayed there in different rooms, which have only approved since first time i stayed there ten years ago, just went there two weeks ago, can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently stayed at Tropic Island for the weekend. Came in on a Friday 8/3 and left on Sunday8/5. On our way down from Dallas we had a flat tire and other car trouble so it was not a pleasant trip. The girl at the front desk was smiling and friendly and efficient. She was knowledgable of the area and gave us great ideas on where to eat and what to do. The room we stayed in had a kitchen. It was great not to be crowded into a small space. The room was spottless. The girl's from housekeeping were really nice and help us out with out request for towels etc. I had a minor challenge with the parking but the owner managed to solve it. Overall it was a great stay and I would do it again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Very clean and plenty of room in the RV park for getting trailers in and out and lots of room for kids to ride bikes, scooters. Clean bathhouse as well. Close to town and beach.

I have stayed in their rooms too and they are very clean and very reasonable. Not a fancy condo but a great place to stay if you want somewhere clean and quiet and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

First, the week before my arrival, I emailed, no response, then called 4 time no answer, only got the answering machine, left 2 messages, no return call. I just wanted to make sure about the room and to see if there was a refrigerator in the room. Second, my reservation was confirmed for two queen bed, I arrived on July 28th, checked in and when I got to the room, there was only one queen bed. I was told I was only charged for one room and they were booked up so they couldn't change my room. (Only a 10 difference so I didn't notice.) If my confirmed reservation was changed, they should have at least had the courtesy to email or call me ahead of time. They didn't even bother to tell me when I checked in. My mother and I both have health issues and need our own bed, neither of us got any sleep. Third, there's an ice bucket but you can only get ice if the office is unlocked, after 9am. Not sure when it's locked for the evening. Forth, the air conditioner was set on 69 and we were unable to find a thermostat, no blanket, only a sheet and bedspread. My mother is nearly 84 so I folded the bedspread to keep her warmer. I finally just unplugged the unit. Bad experience, will never stay there aain and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lady_D16102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Aransas
1.6 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 20 in Port Aransas
452 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 20 in Port Aransas
862 reviews
1.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 20 in Port Aransas
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 20 in Port Aransas
550 reviews
6.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aransas Pass/Corpus Chris
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Island Resort

Address: 315 Cut Off Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4218
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Port Aransas
Price Range: $76 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropic Island Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropic Island Motel & RV Resort is located on 8 acres in the heart of Port Aransas, TX. City Marina and boat ramps 2 blocks away. Close to restaurants and ferry landing. We can accommodate you with motel and kitchen suites located on one side of the park and we also have approximately 150 RV sites available on the other side of the park. Our office is located between the Motel and RV park near the main road. Accommodations include Pool & Spa, BBQ Grills for Motel guest, Fish Cleaning house, Laundry on site, Boat Parking, Bath house for RV guest, Free Cable, WiFi available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tropic Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing