We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome! try this place you will not be disappointed”
Review of Avery's Kitchen

Avery's Kitchen
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Breakfast, Homemade Bisquits,Tacos, Egg Plates, French Toast, PancakesBurgers, Hand Battered, Grilled or Sauteed Seafood, Steaks, Chicken fried Chicken, Chicken Fried Steak, Homemade Crab Cakes, Shrimp, Salads, Subs, Homemade Mash Potatoes, Homemade Clam Chowder, Homemade Onions Rings, Homemade Desserts. Made to order Entrees. Big portions for the price you pay. Give us a try you will not regret it. We are located at the old Little Joe's 200 W Ave G We Serve an awesome homestyle Breakfast from 5AM-11:30AM Lunch and Dinner Close at 10pm On Friday and Saturday. Close at 9pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday. On Wednesday and Sundays hours are 7am-3pm. Try our Onion Rings they are the best along with the hamburgers! We have great food, we are family owned and operated. Come check us out and let us know how we are doing and what we may need to improve. Leave feed back on trip advisor. Thanks!
Marble Falls, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome! try this place you will not be disappointed”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We visited Avery's on Sunday and Monday night July 13-14. My wife and three young children absolutely love this place, we will make a point to eat here when we visit again. My wife and I had the fish &chips with the best Cole slaw they have two options regular or vinegerett we tried both and they were very good. My kids order off the kids menu and they got popcorn shrimp which was a very generous portion. We eat out a lot and I will say we had two of the best waitresses ever and I say two because the young lady waited on us the second night and upon talking to her she said that the waitress we had the first night was her mom. They worked very well together and we were impressed how well the young lady took care of us and handled our kids. She must have been a high school kid because of the shirt we notice it said port Aransas high school, she was a better waitress then most waitresses that have been doing it for years. I will recommend this restaurant to everyone I know. Coodoos to Avery's kitchen keep it up. My only complaint would have to be the key lime pie which I love key lime pie it just didn't have a lot of lime in it and it was frozen just not good ate all, I would like to of seen more dessert options. Looking forward to our next trip to Avery's kitchen.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank clint l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    147
    62
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This place has all the ambiance of a double-wide mobile home. No décor, no style, really blah. But the food was terrific, especially the coconut shrimp and the fried shrimp plate. Really light batter and fresh tasting. Expensive but excellent. BEST WE HAVE HAD IN PORT A. The salad bar was cramped and running low when we ate (8:30pm) but it was adequate. SIDE DISHES WERE BAD: the rice was so bland and tasteless we sent it back. The mashed potatoes didn't have much flavor either.They don't serve alcohol but I LIKED being able to bring my own bottle of wine. Server was gracious to put it on ice for us.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great Shrimp!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Me and my buddy went to a old bar and met the owner, Avery. He convinced us to come in and try his food. The next day we came in for lunch, we each got the shrimp platters, coconut and regular, most amazing jumbo shrimp ever!! We will be back to see our new friend Avery and his great food. - AJ & Bobby

Helpful?
Thank Ashton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a poor experience and will not likely return. We had read about this small casual diner in a recent magazine article so we decided to give it a try during a recent Port A. vacation. We were disappointed. We went for breakfast as we had read great things about their homemade scratch biscuits. And while the biscuits were indeed good, that was as far as it went. We had pancakes which were cheap flour, rubbery and corn syrup style pancake syrup. Bacon was undercooked. Coffee was horrible cheap “gas station” type. Service was lacking. Not attentive with a poor nonchalant attitude and short-changed our ticket until we brought it to her attention. We observed other servers eating their own plates in between assisting other customers and never once washing hands. We also thought it was over priced for what one receives. The place is small non-descript. Very plain which is part of their motto – keeping things simple. However, it could use some atmosphere to help improve the experience. If you like truck stop style cheap diner food then this is your place. We prefer higher quality offerings in a clean place with atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only Breakfast Buffet in Town”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very clean, friendly staff, reasonable prices, and the only place in Port A to get a Breakfast Buffet. The food is great as well. Photo opportunity in the front. Check out the Big sandcastle displayed in the front of the building.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mlelmlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avery's Kitchen also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Avery's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing