We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ate there twice in one weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Avery's Kitchen

Avery's Kitchen
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Breakfast, Homemade Bisquits,Tacos, Egg Plates, French Toast, PancakesBurgers, Hand Battered, Grilled or Sauteed Seafood, Steaks, Chicken fried Chicken, Chicken Fried Steak, Homemade Crab Cakes, Shrimp, Salads, Subs, Homemade Mash Potatoes, Homemade Clam Chowder, Homemade Onions Rings, Homemade Desserts. Made to order Entrees. Big portions for the price you pay. Give us a try you will not regret it. We are located at the old Little Joe's 200 W Ave G We Serve an awesome homestyle Breakfast from 5AM-11:30AM Lunch and Dinner Close at 10pm On Friday and Saturday. Close at 9pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday. On Wednesday and Sundays hours are 7am-3pm. Try our Onion Rings they are the best along with the hamburgers! We have great food, we are family owned and operated. Come check us out and let us know how we are doing and what we may need to improve. Leave feed back on trip advisor. Thanks!
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ate there twice in one weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

On the advice of our lodge owners, we ate at Avery's for dinner first. Not only was the food delicious (they use panko breadcrumbs for the fried dishes), we really appreciated it being BYOB so we could enjoy our nice bottle of wine. We were "talked into" trying the dessert (yum), and convinced that we needed to return for breakfast, which is what this small diner is really known for by the locals. Breakfast did not disappoint and we had the best biscuits and gravy we've had in years. The food is simple, yet well-prepared and you walk away wishing you had more room in your belly to try more things on the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    145
    62
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hondo, Texas
2 reviews
“Good service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I took two teenagers mid morning. It wasn't quite time for the lunch menu, but my waitress let me order lunch. Teenagers had breakfast and they loved the food. My fried fish was outstanding. It is plain on the inside, but the service and food are both great. The prices a very reasonable for what you get. This is the second time I have eaten here, and I haven't been disappointed. I plan to come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JannieBryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“We won't be going there again.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Its a pretty plain place kind of like a mens locker room, smell included. Cheap tables and chairs. Plates and utencils were probably retired from a summer camp. One of salads literally had mold on some of the lettuce making the rest of the table wade tenativly into their own. Luckily each plate had only 8 or 9 pieces of lettuce so it didn't take long. The special was grouper, and as you may have noticed in the previous posts, the special is always grouper. Its the only fresh fish and the same fish they fry to use in the seafood platers. I know what you're thinking, that grouper is a good normally higher priced fish. Ummmm no. The grilled grouper actually was shining on the plate like it was undercooked but it wasn't. It had the texture of babyfood and the taste of the label on the babyfood jar. The brocolli cheese soup was more like brocolli cheese gravy. You could actually use a fork to eat it without any of it seeping through the tines. It was obvious why that was the soup of the day since there will be no shortage of brocolli from the dinner plates that were plastic rehydrated and inedible. The cheese part was sprinkled cheddar on top. Not sure what the rest of the ingredients were, maybe quikcrete. Thankfully the food came quick and we were able to leave.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWGknowsgoodfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good hole in the wall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The staff are very nice and friendly, quite vivacious actually! The food was the best I have had on the island. The fried seafood was a tad underdone and the breading was questionable. (this seems to be the standard at all the restaurants in the island) Where this restaurant exceeds is the specials and the home style favorites.You can tell there is an actual chef who cares in the kitchen. The atmosphere is exactly as it looks on the outside. kinda like some elderly relatives house you visited as a child. This place will most definitely be the restaurant I visit the most.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chef P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very average, but $-friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

On the up-side Avery's Kitchen is BYOB. Portions are generous for the price. Not exciting décor, but clean.

On the downside the wait staff appeared unwelcoming and generally wishing they were anywhere else (which is endemic among many of the wait staff at other restaurants). The broccoli tasted previously frozen as did many of the other sides.

If you have a forgiving palate and are on a budget, check out Avery's.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avery's Kitchen also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Avery's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing