We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place on the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3rd Coast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
3rd Coast Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Aransas B&B and Inns
Brownwood, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I first want to say thank you for the most amazing experience I have had in port aransas in 15 years. My most favorite thing were the bicycles. Me and my 5 year old son rode bikes all day for two days. They had bikes for all ages and we tried every single one to find our perfect one. The rooms were more than adequate, it was like having all the amenities of home. We cooked a wonderful breakfast and went out to the pool. We then cooked a wonderful burger and hot dog lunch for the kids on their BBQ pit by the pool. The kids swam all day day and the adults hung in the hot tub. The staff was amazing, so sweet and helpful. They had movies in the office for the kids and games for the adults. Just he most amazing trip ever. I would recommend it to anyone anytime We also met some dear friends that were our neighbors and I believe we will be friends for life ! Thanks again for our wonderful time I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E6Plumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review for 3rd Coast Inn. We are glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us and hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blanco, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

When we got married we couldn't think of a better place to stay than the 3rd Coast Inn so we took our chances and drove down. Much to our surprise we had the whole place to ourselves. What an awesome week that was 4/2/12-4/8/12. So when our 1 yr anniversary rolled around we thought maybe Vegas or some exotic island getaway. But one evening while brainstorming with my husband we looked at each other and our eyes lit up and together we said 3rd Coast Inn! Once again we had to time of our lives. We just can't say enough about the cleanliness of the rooms, the hospitality of Darcy, Deanna and the family or the new mattress toppers in the rooms. We slept like babies, partied like college kids and fished to our hearts content (my husband's heart that is!) This is and will always be one of my most favorite places in Texas and it is a big state. So till next time 3rd Coast Inn...Thanks and we miss you!

Room Tip: If you have a family with a couple of little ones, room 5 has a bunk bed and a queen size bed with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowers2by2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are so happy that you guys spent your anniversary with us!! Thanks for all the nice things you had to say about 3rd Coast Inn. See you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is exactly what we needed. Clean friendly and close to everything!!! You can walk or bike to anywhere in Port A from here (oh and use of the bikes are free). We loved our little rooms. The decoration is be cute and the accommodation is very clean. Our unit had two beds and a full kitchen, which we used to make breakfast every morning. This is a perfect place to wind down and chill out. It is not high end, nor does it pretend to be but what it lacks in thread count it more than makes up in charm and hospitality.

Every night after dinner we went to the hot tub to relax or sat in the covered area with a fire to keep us warm. One night we were on our own and another we sat with other residents. There are BBQ if you want to grill your dinner and a lovely big hammock for a nap during the day.

We are already talking about when we are going to head down to Port A again, and when we do we will stay at 3rd Coast Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sgeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will be coming to visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed one night after doing the boat trip out of Fulton Harbor to see the whooping cranes. (We loved the boat trip!) The staff was friendly, but the room was not really what we expected. The door opened onto what was the grassy parking lot and every time we walked in the room, we brought the dust and grass with us, despite the fact that we moved a little rug from in front of the bed and used it to wipe our feet. It was noisy from the people next door - we could hear all their talking and their TV. The room was quite small, you could barely walk around it without bumping into the little table that the micro and coffee maker were on. The mattress was the kind where you kept rolling into the middle. They tried to brighten it up by painting the concrete a bright blue and red. The bedspread was black. There were newspaper pictures of pirates taped to the walls (I think it was the 'theme' of the pirate room). It was clean. It was adequate. But if we ever go back, and we might because the birds here are fantastic!, we would try to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinGal1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your candid review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we realize that we can not please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Port Aransas and stayed here, we loved it and are planning a return stay soon! Small and not showy from the street view, this is a hidden gem. Staff are super friendly, helpful and kind - full of tips on where to eat, shop, sightsee, etc. Our room was immaculately clean - (as a nurse, I really care about this!) - comfortable, and super cute with seashore themed decor and bright colors - love it! They have a spacious pool and hottub also, we were pretty tired and didn't try that out, but maybe next time. Looking forward to our next trip down there - very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at 3rd Coast Inn. We do our best to make sure our guest are comfortable and have everything they need in the room to make their stay great! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand parairie, tx.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two relaxingly nice nights here on our weeklong Texas tour trip. Small, quiet place with the friendliest folks you could ever want to get to know. Our room (#7) was adjacent to office and had it's very own porch area, that others came over and used with us just to sit and visit. It was windy as all get out while we were in Port A, so we did not go to beach (would have been sandblasted!) so we spent time just exploring and relaxing at the Inn. Highly recommended get away. Forget goint to national chain hotels and take time to relax and enjoy the simple life here!

Room Tip: Room #7 was small with huge bathroom. And had an area to sit out in the morning to have coffee, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank councilman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us, and hope you are able to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What really makes this place stand out is what you experience while staying here. From outside appearances at the street, it's hard to tell that this place is a gem in disguise. Once you're on the grounds and can see the pool and the colorful flowers, you begin to realize that it's not another big-box hotel or a sleazy motel. Then as you pass by the owners and exchange small talk, you realize that the owners genuinely enjoy what they do. They work hard, bring a nice presence with them, and do the best they can. The room my wife and I stayed at was connected to the office. To a person with high expectations for a fancy room, you would find yourself being unsatisfied. But to someone who just wants to get away from the world and relax, the room and the nearby sitting area outside is perfect. Glad that we found this place.

Tip - If you're looking to be directly on the beach, this isn't the right place. But believe me, the pool and this location in general is a fine getaway from the beach and in the night, I'd say the pool is far better than being out on the beach.

Room Tip: The room connected to the office is nice because of the adjoining outdoor sitting area with laid bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us, and glad that you enjoyed our plants! We hope that you will be able to come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3rd Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd Coast Inn

Property: 3rd Coast Inn
Address: 718 S Station St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5235
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
3rd Coast Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing