We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 3rd Coast Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
3rd Coast Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Port Aransas B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OK, not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed one night after doing the boat trip out of Fulton Harbor to see the whooping cranes. (We loved the boat trip!) The staff was friendly, but the room was not really what we expected. The door opened onto what was the grassy parking lot and every time we walked in the room, we brought the dust and grass with us, despite the fact that we moved a little rug from in front of the bed and used it to wipe our feet. It was noisy from the people next door - we could hear all their talking and their TV. The room was quite small, you could barely walk around it without bumping into the little table that the micro and coffee maker were on. The mattress was the kind where you kept rolling into the middle. They tried to brighten it up by painting the concrete a bright blue and red. The bedspread was black. There were newspaper pictures of pirates taped to the walls (I think it was the 'theme' of the pirate room). It was clean. It was adequate. But if we ever go back, and we might because the birds here are fantastic!, we would try to find another place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelinGal1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thanks for your candid review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations, we realize that we can not please everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent a couple of days in Port Aransas and stayed here, we loved it and are planning a return stay soon! Small and not showy from the street view, this is a hidden gem. Staff are super friendly, helpful and kind - full of tips on where to eat, shop, sightsee, etc. Our room was immaculately clean - (as a nurse, I really care about this!) - comfortable, and super cute with seashore themed decor and bright colors - love it! They have a spacious pool and hottub also, we were pretty tired and didn't try that out, but maybe next time. Looking forward to our next trip down there - very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here at 3rd Coast Inn. We do our best to make sure our guest are comfortable and have everything they need in the room to make their stay great! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand parairie, tx.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent two relaxingly nice nights here on our weeklong Texas tour trip. Small, quiet place with the friendliest folks you could ever want to get to know. Our room (#7) was adjacent to office and had it's very own porch area, that others came over and used with us just to sit and visit. It was windy as all get out while we were in Port A, so we did not go to beach (would have been sandblasted!) so we spent time just exploring and relaxing at the Inn. Highly recommended get away. Forget goint to national chain hotels and take time to relax and enjoy the simple life here!

Room Tip: Room #7 was small with huge bathroom. And had an area to sit out in the morning to have coffee, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank councilman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time spent with us, and hope you are able to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What really makes this place stand out is what you experience while staying here. From outside appearances at the street, it's hard to tell that this place is a gem in disguise. Once you're on the grounds and can see the pool and the colorful flowers, you begin to realize that it's not another big-box hotel or a sleazy motel. Then as you pass by the owners and exchange small talk, you realize that the owners genuinely enjoy what they do. They work hard, bring a nice presence with them, and do the best they can. The room my wife and I stayed at was connected to the office. To a person with high expectations for a fancy room, you would find yourself being unsatisfied. But to someone who just wants to get away from the world and relax, the room and the nearby sitting area outside is perfect. Glad that we found this place.

Tip - If you're looking to be directly on the beach, this isn't the right place. But believe me, the pool and this location in general is a fine getaway from the beach and in the night, I'd say the pool is far better than being out on the beach.

Room Tip: The room connected to the office is nice because of the adjoining outdoor sitting area with laid bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe30196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time spent with us, and glad that you enjoyed our plants! We hope that you will be able to come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is great! It is so clean and comfortable, the beds feel like my own temperpedic pillowtop at home. Kitchen is roomy and stocked well with coffe and real cream, so many little extras. People leave behind things they don't want to lug home like floaties, bikes, sunscreen, etc. and its yours for happy borrowing! Super friendly owners! Darcy let me check in early and check out at noon which was nice after a night of partying with friends that live here, LOL ! I will never stay anywhere else, I have no complaints about this place, worth every penny. I am going back for spring break with my kids and grandkids and really looking forward to it.
Pam M. - Austin, Tx

Room Tip: I have only stayed in room 1 so far,loved it! Staying in room 3 for upcoming trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamiam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and are comfortable here. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Third Coast Inn is rated by Trip Advisor as the most outstanding place to stay in Port Aransas, TX. We reserved a room based on that rating. We just spent 3 nights at 3rd Coast Inn in room 7. The ceiling in our room was no more than 4 inches above my 6'1" husband's head. We felt like we needed to duck down all the time. The room was so tiny there was no place for a chair...the only chair was in the bathroom!! yuck...and the bathroom didn't even have a vent fan. The place was very clean except that there were dozens of very tiny bugs scurrying around on the shelf where we put our luggage. We are right now washing all our stuff and bug-spraying our luggage to try to keep from importing the bugs into our home.

The queen-sized bed, which filled the tiny room, was of very poor construction. Neither my husband nor I are enormous people but the bed made noises like it was about to collapse each time we sat on it, lay down on it, rolled over, etc. We think it is a very cheap box spring (but aren't sure). The mattress seemed too soft and neither of us slept well.

The owners are friendly and gave us excellent recommendations for places to eat around town. The place looks dumpy from the outside and we wouldn't have even pulled in if we hadn't had a paid reservation. Third Coast Inn certainly wasn't what we expected.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Well sadly I guess this has to happen at some point, after 71 happy reviewers we finally met that one unhappy guest. First I would like to address the remark that this guest had a prepaid reservation,there is no such thing here at 3rd Coast Inn, we do require a credit card to reserve a room as does every other motel, however we do not charge until you arrive unless you request to prepay. As I recall upon check in this guest also ask to see the room BEFORE paying which they did and said everything was fine! When the reservation was made the guest was also informed that we had a bigger room available , however because the rate was $10.00 more per night for the bigger room they declined. There was no mention made of any bugs in the room during their stay and we saw this guest daily and inquired as to how things were and if they needed anything and was always told everything was fine. We cannot address a problem we do not know about. As for the bed all of our rooms have new mattresses, this particular room also has a brand new bed. We take great pride in the maintenance of 3rd Coast Inn and the satisfaction of our guests , as I think the good 71 reviews show!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I didn't know what to expect when we rolled up to the 3rd Coast Inn for our 2 night jaunt to Port A. Two young gals looking to hit the beach on a budget. We knew the price was right and the location was good. We were a little nervous when we pulled up to what looked like a rusty lil motel but were put at ease as soon as we talked to the awesome innkeepers. They were super friendly and gave great suggestions for dinner (Shells!)
We stayed in room 7 which is super cool and has its own little private screened porch area. It had everything my friend and I needed for a stay at the beach. Actually, the place has more than you need! Once the sun set, the pool and hot tub area came alive with multi-color lights and friendly guests. We had the best time at 3rd Coast! We will be returning soon.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarcyT, Owner at 3rd Coast Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thanks so much for the nice things you said about us, we try very hard to accomodate all of our guests needs. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3rd Coast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3rd Coast Inn

Property: 3rd Coast Inn
Address: 718 S Station St, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5235
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your 3rd Coast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3rd Coast Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing