We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places on the Island”

Kody's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #23 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Better places on the Island”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Perhaps we went during a "bad" time and our experience was not typical but when we ate there the attitude of the bartender in particular was rude, short, and acted as if we were a bother. Food was average. Nothing special. In fact the crab cake I oredered was served cold and tasted fishy. We had way better during our 4 day stay in Port A

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank suziq2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    139
    75
    41
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food Review”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The garlic fish is to die for!!! I have to get it every time I go to Port Aransas! It is much cheaper at lunch!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdirmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Seared Tuna Tacos did not disapoint!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our afternoon was spent meeting with builders and designers for a new concept in vacation homes in Port Aransas, so we wanted good food and drink to mull over facts and figures. Kody's met the challenge of casual atmosphere with good value. We enjoyed the Tuna and Shrimp tacos at the bar with a few glasses of pinot grigio. Customers order at the front door by the chalkboard menu which also lists specials. Service was rapid and food was excellent. Drink refills were offered promptly. Noise level is quite high but manageable. All in all, a very good experience!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portacurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dull Decor/ Fine Food”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Which do you want: decent decor or good food? Kody's food is good. The restaurant is low class. You order at the door like fast food restaurants. The walls are stained; the lighting is not even atmospheric; the waiter appears once with your very good fish, never to be seen again. No views. no music. But still they manage to keep the prices up. We may go again but only if it is on our way to somewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fulltimer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never disappointing !”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is a constant on food -have been here for the last 5 years on a regular basis and never been dissatisfied. Friends from out of town come to visit and always request our first night out to eat to be Kody's. Come for the food not the atmosphere-no going in it is a bar. The kids always enjoy put-put though.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kody's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kody's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing