We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Aransas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Beach Resort
Gonzales, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We are staying two weeks and are happy with everything here. The staff has been nice and very helpful. We will definitely come back. The place is quiet and very secure.

Room Tip: Five spots near the boardwalk have the most privacy and least neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    16
    10
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We love this RV park. It's just over the dunes from the ocean, with a nice boardwalk to get there easily. The sites are spacious and clean, beautifully laid out. The roads are well paved. The restrooms are spotless. The laundry room is a bit too small for the size of the park, but ok. There is are nice pools and a rec center with lots of activities offered. Everyone who works there is friendly and outgoing, eager to help make everything comfortable. We are delighted at the addition of an off-leash dog area! Some people complained about the wind, which is constantly blowing off the ocean, but we weren't bothered by it. We put up a windsock! This park is where we'll always go.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLennan County Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Previous to this April 2012 trip, the last time we visited Pioneer was 2003. I would have expected some wear-and-tear after a 9-year absence, but I didn't see any! The staff works non-stop to keep the place looking like new, but they still manage time for a friendly wave as the customers walk/bike/drive by. Two pools and a hot tub, multiple locations for rest rooms / showers. A recent addition is the off-leash dog run. The boardwalk is in good shape. The cable TV was almost crystal-clear, the wifi was good. We always get a premium pull-thru spot for a little more elbow-room. The dogs learned quick about the sand burrs, and I did see the staff doing what they could to thin them out (the burrs, not the dogs).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stairs for sandfeast . Very clean and neat place has something for everybody. Staff and guest very friendly. Had heard sand burrs were a problem did not see any. Really only complaint is the playscaoe.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elginrver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Texas
Level Contributor
281 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival, we were actually screamed at by the RV Host's parking guide. We did not know we had to be escorted to our planned site for the next five months. If there was signage, we didn't see it. With his (John Wayne) attitude, we decided to camp for the summer at the RV park 2 miles down the beach. Upon arrival at Gulf Waters RV Resort, we were happy to experience gracious management and one of the most beautiful campsites we have seen in our 15 years of rving.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank SouthernBoy2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The staff is quite unfriendly. In fact, they are downright rude. The restrooms are not cared for as they have been in the past. The park tends to smell like a septic tank. Camp sites are very close to one another, even in the "Premium Pull-Through" sites. I'm sorry to say that this park is not what it used to be, and this represents our last stay here. There are better choices for the money in Port Aransas.

Room Tip: At anything less than the Premium sites, you will be uncomfortably close to your neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My family [ myself, husband and 10 and 9 yo ] spent the second weekend of spring break herer and we were pleasantly surprised. My only suggestion is that if you want close access to the small boardwalk that leads to the beach you reserve a premium site, the place is very big and we were able to just walk to the beach. Since we were not one of the many that had a golf cart it was nice to be closer. I like that they had an employee checking to see if you actually were staying at the Pioneer park at the end of the boardwalk, it kept the rowdy-ness down to a minimum.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ybstrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
3.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
2.2 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
2.7 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Beach Resort

Property: Pioneer Beach Resort
Address: 120 Gulfwind Dr, Port Aransas, TX 78373-4955 (Formerly Pioneer RV Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Pioneer Rv Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing