We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
IB Magee Beach Park
Nearby Hotels
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$164
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Port Aransas TX(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Island Hotel Port Aransas(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$150
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captain's Quarters Inn(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$140
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amelia's Landing Hotel(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alister Square Inn(Port Aransas)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plantation Suites(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$156
$145
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Coyoacan(Port Aransas)(Great Value!)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Place Hotel(Port Aransas)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$217
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveler rating
16
12
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
12
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull hookupsrv campingclean restroomsupper deckstate parkfishing pierwater pressureelectricitycampersmcgeesanddunespermittrash
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 40 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We called in 2 months in advance for a reservation - for a 1 week stay. Got here 6pm on Friday and was told there was one spot left (a poor one - right on the entrance way - where everyone comes in and out and we're on a parking lot). Not happy with this site so
we were told that we could check back before noon the next day for other spots. We did that - and then was told that we would have to change spots again the next Friday for other campers with reservations. What? All we got was a heehaw around with an answer about the holiday coming up (Memorial Day) and the number of days that campers stay here. What???

It seems that other campers with reservations have more priority than others. We have a 30 foot RV - much like many other campers here and we were told that this was an issue also. We're looking at the campsite now - many campers have left which has left many campsites open. And we can't move into one that suits us best for the rest of our stay - because we are staying until Saturday morning and not leaving on Friday morning. Are you serious?

This will be the last stay for us. We did stay last year and all was well. But this time around - this is wrong.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is great for those who like to camp on the beach but still need a few comforts like electricity, fresh water and clean hot showers. Good for tent camping all the way to large RV's. Warning: If you camp next to the dunes and the wind is from the east you may be covered in sand!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
12  Thank hula1hula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you live in a land-locked town and don't get to the beach very often, then perhaps you will find something to like about this park. Otherwise, keep looking. We booked three nights nearly two months in advance for Labor Day weekend (non-refundable - you will pay an additional $3.95 for a credit card transaction!). Arrived well ahead of the crowds with a 26 foot travel trailer and two dogs. We were assigned a "campsite" on crumbling concrete. We requested a "campsite" on the grassy areas in the park so that we could stake off our dogs with us when we were outside. Nope - those grassy "campsites" are only for tent campers - we could stake the dogs "in the dunes" adjacent to the parking lot of "campsites." The dunes during this time of year are a veritable medievil torture chamber of sticker burrs. "Covered picnic tables" are nasty and decrepit and our "campsite" was littered with cigarette butts. The wind was howling and we finally gave up and left on the first night. Steer clear!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank purplestocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had reservations here for a week in early April 2012, just after Easter. The day we got here it was beautiful, sunny and just a light breeze. The park itself is in a perfect location, quick walk to the beach which was clean and the ocean water was a beautiful clear blue.. exactly what we came here for. Sites are nice and spacious for a big rig like our 38ft 5th wheel, the ones closest to the park office get good WIFI speed, not so sure about the others. Very impressed with the bath houses, modern, clean and lots of toilets and showers. They aren't open to the general public, campers get a key card to access them. You even have your choice of stair or elevator access to them if you have physical limitations.

Next day, things went downhill. A bad weather system moved in and stayed for the entire week we were there. Extremely high winds whipped the sand around so much that it wasn't even pleasant to be outside...you got sand blasted. Cooking outside was impossible without a tarp to block the wind but it didn't help much with the sand. All of our equipment, bikes, chairs, trailer got coated in sticky, gritty, sand. What a mess! The same system also threw tons of seaweed in the water and on the beach.... made swimming or fishing next to impossible.

Our timing really sucked because the day we left, the weather was gorgeous. The county workers were already working hard removing the seaweed from the beach that morning. So if you stay here when mother nature is having a good day, you'll love it. If she's have a bad day or week like we got, you won't have much fun.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank trailernomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is a great park with the beach just over the knoll. Great people to work with. Clean level spaces and management isn't hung up on what "kind" of dog you have, just that they are well mannered. We have a goofy Rott n lab and some places ban Rotties. We pull a fifth wheel and the sites are very user friendly. I have stayed at several spots up and down the coast, this is by far my favorite.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews