We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and good food”

Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar
Ranked #49 of 78 Restaurants in Port Aransas
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Blanco Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Five friends went to Lisa Bella's a few weekends ago. We had to wait until 8:45 to get seated because we had not made a reservation early enough. First of all, the signage to find the place is lacking. (We were told their sign blew down) Since the restaurant is not large, make a reservation if you want to come at a decent hour; at least on the weekends. We went earlier to check the place out and have a drink at the bar. The bartender seemed very new, I asked for a cosmo and he seemed out of his element but it came out fine. The food was excellent, the lobster enchiladas were yummy, the mussels were very tasty. The one negative is the noise, there's no acoustics and the sound bounces off the wood walls. There is a table in an enclave that is probably more quiet. All in all a nice addition to the Port A restaurant scene.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smurfjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    10
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“RIP OFF and RUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

I purchased a Groupon to try this place out. It's about 45 min away from my home, and only after we received our bill did they say that they would not accept the Groupon because it was during spring break (even though the Groupon did not have any stipulations against using it during spring break). The manager, Kelly, said I could come back any time and use the Groupon (which was due to expire in 2 weeks). He said, even if it's expired, they will honor it.

When I called to make a reservation again, making sure to tell them that I had an expired Groupon that I was told I could still redeem, the owner, Kris said he would only honor the value that I paid for the Groupon ($20 is what I paid, $40 was the value of the Groupon). When I asked why he wouldn't grant the entire value of the Groupon that was originally promised to me in March, Kris said, "because I don't want to" and then hung up on me. Who does business like this?

Kris, take note, if you don't want to honor Groupons then don't buy into the promotion in the first place. And, if you lost a lot of money on this promotion (which I can only assume you did), don't take it out on your (former) customers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anderson007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

we are really foodies and eat out twice a week at least. Lisa Bella is abolutely outstanding. Food, wine list, ambiance, service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swisstex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lisabella's delivers good service with great food in upscale Atmosphere...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Excellent service the other night at Lisabella's. My friend and husband enjoyed the mermaid soup. They loved it! Then lobster enchiladas, grouper and mahgarita pizza. Everything was excellent! Yes the place is pricey but if you want Whataburger prices then go to Whataburger. The only thing I would change about the experience is the noise level. Extremely loud inside this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank portacurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Lisabellas is one of the top places to eat for an upscale dining experience. Food is fresh and consistently good. Family owned with owner in the kitchen. Chef graduated from culinary institute and therefore well trained. Fish excellent but filet is my constant order. Great mussels for appetizer. Good atmosphere in new location. Quieter than old location and roomier. Only drawback is it is a bit out the island highway and not in Old Town. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrippenDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lisa Bella's Bistro & Java Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing