We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This old front porch”
Review of Tarpon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tarpon Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Port Aransas B&B and Inns
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This old front porch”
Reviewed July 24, 2005

If you enjoy a sense of history and are attracted to the idea of a place without room telephones or televisions this is a good choice. However, don't get too attached to the idea that this old wooden structure with large front porches with ceiling fans and rocking chairs is a peaceful retreat. The amount of road traffic and restaurant/bar activity takes a toll on the serenity that is apparent in the hotel pictures. The rooms relect the age of the (updated) hotel - in a good way including the rustic scent, worn paint, and heavy wooden doors. The lace window coverings help create a relaxing visual effect as night time lighting shines through and projects shadows around the room.

People are generally friendly and the location is very convenient. Since each room can be drastically differnet, it's probably best to thorougly review room options prior to making a reservation. There's not much fanciness here - but in a good way. I'd certainly like to visit the inn again.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank fastestmanonplanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    41
    18
    16
    12
See reviews for
17
67
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2005

Just back from our visit early May.....The Historic Tarpon Inn has finally recieved some much needed updating, and to our surprise, has added a pool! For those of you who love the Tarpon, all the good things are still there, they are just better! The rooms are all updated - even the air conditionars have all been replaced. All the rooms have a different theme/style and are different sizes. See their website for nice photos of each of the rooms. We love the second floor. Hanging out on the large porches and swaying in the rocking chairs makes for a perfect morning or afternoon! The lobby has all been redone and even offers a coffee spot and TV! The pool is not in the courtyard, but just to the side of it where there used to be alot of trees and shrubs. The beautiful courtyard is still there, and hoping to lure a restuarant back after Beulah's left. See attached photos. The bank directly across the street is now a club/grill. We were worried about loud music, but actually just sat in the rockers and listened to the singer sing some nice jazz (Norah Jones)- it was so nice! A new restaurant, Lizabellas just opened next door and is fabulous and very reasonable - be sure to sit outside on the upper deck for a great view! Tarpon now has it all, history, location, charm and hey- even a pool!

Helpful?
8 Thank SAlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 6, 2005

The Lobby with the Tarpon Scales and pictures is pracitally a local museum. What a enchanting place!

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 17, 2005

Our Family recently booked a stay at The Tarpon Inn in the FDR suite. The FDR suite was incredible. It had hardwood floors and was furnished with old world costal furniture. It had a full kitchen and was very spacious.

The Inn keepers Dan and Faye were very knowledgable and new everything about the area attractions and resturants.

The prices are very reasonable compared to other hotels on the Island.

We will be going back.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2005

We stayed at the Tarpon Inn over New Years and attended a private party at the hotel. The acomodations, and facility exceded our expectations. Our room was furnished with great antiques. WIFI was availibe for our laptops and there was no distracting televisions. It was heaven.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 6, 2005

3 day stay starting New Year's Eve:

We didn't enjoy our stay at the Tarpon Inn due to the noise and lack of on-site staff/means to contact hotel staff after hours.
- the wood floors/porch and street allow for a lot of noise, even on the 2nd floor (we were in room 21)
- the rooms are more rustic than antique.
- hotel staff were not responsive or attentive to guests needs

Details of our experience

At check-in we were invited to a Private Party at the hotel (we weren't able to attend):
At 1:34am New Years Day I had to tell a parent of the children (several kids younger than 10 years of age) to quiet down as the kids jumped and screamed on the moonwalk just below our room's window. Our room did not have after-hours information on what to do should the need arise to contact hotel staff. (I did obtain the list from front desk the next day while posting my concerns from the night before). Reception Desk closes at 9pm.

There were doors that opened to nowhere - as it appears every other room was converted to a bathroom for the adjoining room. After midnight, someone was trying to open the door that evidently led to a room next to ours when the hotel was built 100+ years ago, but now led to a blank wall outside our bathroom. The person was looking for her kids.

At 9:00 pm on January 1 we heard someone outside our door say "....the couple from Austin, I know they are in there..."

We checked out early before front desk opened at 8am, so I emailed the hotel to recommend:

- Inform guests there will be a private party so guests may take that into consideration,
- Reassign guests to a quieter part of the hotel (or offer reassignment) when there will be noisy events just below their window,
- Provide hotel information at check-in regarding contact after hours,
- Be discreet when discussing hotel guests, or concerns raised by hotel guests.

After several days there has been no acknowledgement from the hotel of my email.

We did enjoy Port Aransas and the Casino Cruise, so try some other hotel and visit the Tarpon Inn to see the Tarpon scales.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Port Aransas hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 22, 2004

No phone, no TV, just great rooms, great service. This is not the place for a bunch of kids that want to watch TV and play in a pool. It is fabulous for those wanting a relaxing and romantic vacation. The rooms are beautifully decorated. We loved rooms 26 and 28. We also enjoyed sitting on the covered porch, with our ice chest of course, just watching what was going on in Port A. We have traveled alot and this is on of our all time favorites.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
0.7 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarpon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarpon Inn

Property: Tarpon Inn
Address: 200 E Cotter Ave, Port Aransas, TX 78373-5124
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 200' long porches to relax on since 1886, the longest porches in Texas stretches and relaxes along with you. The salt air and breezes are gently encouraged by old-fashioned ceiling fans.  The sweet creaking of roomy rocking chairs blends with the pages of a novel being turned. Where each room is decorated in period antiques and no two rooms are alike and where there are no televisions nor telephones.      If our place sounds like your kind of place, then please consider this an invitation to make yourself at home. We're waiting to treat you as part of our Tarpon Inn family and encourage you to wonder if it's possible to stay forever,or at least a couple more days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Tarpon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarpon Hotel Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing