We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome for a good time at the beach!”
Review of Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Retreat
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome for a good time at the beach!”
Reviewed January 25, 2005

I stayedat the Island Retreat recently with a few of my friends, and it was awesome. I loved the fact that we had a large balcony we could all sit on facing the water, and the boardwalk leading us straight to the beach. The Pool was great, and all the amenities in the condo(Full Kitchen, Towels, Cable TV) were more than enough. For the price, I definately recommend this property for a good time at the beach! We will be returning in a few months!

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank myflutterbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    19
    9
    18
See reviews for
81
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 10, 2004

I have been staying here as often as I can get to Port A. It is like home away from home. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms may be old but they are very comfortable. I have stayed in two other hotels in the years past but always come back to Island Retreat. Keep up the good work and we love ya, will be back to stay in Sept. We just returned and already planning a return visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 9, 2004

I stayed at the Island Retreat August 2004. The room seemed very old, but in reasonably good repair. While I was there, I noticed trucks delivering new appliances and kitchen cabinets and observed work being done on the landscape. The walls and ceiling are a little on the thin side and not airtight. I stayed in a non-smoking room where smoking was allowed in the adjoining rooms. More than one night I woke to the smell of cigarette smoke. One of the two pools was green with algae. I complained to the office and, although the pool was cleaned the next day, the pool remained green and clouding for the duration of my stay.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2004

We travel clear across Texas to stay with the folks at the Island Retreat as often as we can and that's been many times over a period of years. We love the atmosphere and the fellowship and the kids have grown up knowing that around the end of July to middle of August, hottest part of our year, we travel to South Texas to enjoy the trip and the town and fun in the sun. The kids play in the pool and love the walk to the beach to get to the waves. We have all voted that "6 Flags" or any water park has nothing on the fun and pleasure we get out of family and friends at the Island Retreat. Sorta great to have a place so far from home that we can enjoy so much...YOU GO! JB AND GALA ! WE'RE GONNA SEE YA' SOON....TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE IT! THANKS, PAT, NIKKI, HEMI, BRITTNEY, ISABELL AND JONATHAN

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 19, 2004

I stayed there last weekend at it was great. Easy to get to the beach, very comfortable condos, and the two pools were nice.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2004

My favorite view on the Island...most of the condos overlook either a fun pool or a beautilful view of the gulf with pretty dunes at sunset. Great for families!

Helpful?
4 Thank Hope342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2003

This was our choice for a last minute place to stay. The staff is friendly and courtious. Not only are the rooms spacious, but they come with basic cookware to use. The room was quiet, so we were able to get a nice rest. It was clean and neat, but not festive. This establishment is worth every penny.

Helpful?
5 Thank A_Solano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Property: Island Retreat
Address: 700 Island Retreat Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6012
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing