We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
Review of Island Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Retreat
georgetown texas usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in #125. The location of the condos is good, although our condo did not have a view of the Gulf because we were on the first floor which was disappointing. The condo had a very comfortable bed in the bedroom and the beds in the sitting room were adequate. The kitchen was very basic, and there was a problem with lighting. The price was reasonable for the proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank carolyns823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    35
    19
    9
    18
See reviews for
81
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

There is a large variety of condos to choose from and it is possible to go online and see every individual unit before you decide. I have been twice with my four boys and will definitely be back. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Just a beautiful place to stay. Kid friendly and well taken care of with my only issue being the state of the roads and parking. There are quite a few large potholes that need taken care of. It would be nice if the older section was renovated to look similar to the new units with nicer landscaping as well. Overall, a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Definitely go online and view all your choices with the virtual room viewer. The large dunes make it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pd1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Yes, the decor is dated. But Clean, well kept rooms.
The price was very resonable.
Very close to the beach and the pool area and pool were very clean...but could do with more shade.
Helpful and friendly staff.
A great place for familes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelforsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Very clean well stocked condo. All the appliances worked well. There were a lot of little extras: movies, books, games, multiple cooking utensils. This unit has a great view of the ocean. The porch gets the morning sun so wonderful sunrise views. Cool afternoon and evening temps as the porch is shaded later in the day. The beds were comfortable. It was peacefull and quite while we were there: end of April, beginning of May. There is a walkway to the beach, but it is a bit of a distances and has a steep climb. Could be a bit difficult for someone in poor shape. The water pressure for showering was very weak but the whole area has limited fresh water so... Would stay here again! Everyone was very satisfied with the experience.

Room Tip: Consider direction porch faces: some condos have morning sun, some evening sun and some had sunshine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MimiToo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed at Island Retreat unit #18 March 2012 for 3 nights. Nice clean little efficiency condo with all the amenities. The unit does not have a stove. it has a full size fridge, microwave, toaster and sink. All silverware plates and other kitchen items as well. Condo was not far from the boardwalk leading to the beach. It was also not a far walk to the Beach Lodge, the only restaurant directly on the beach. For a quick get-away for 2 to Port A, this was a pretty good value in a decent location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My family and I have been taking an annual vacation to Port Aransas since I was 4 years old (I am now 24) and we always stay at the Island Retreat. The staff is friendly, the condos are nice, and the location is perfect. There is a clear walk to the beach, and the resort offers great amenities. My only complaint has always been their upkeep of the basketball goals. My cousins and I look forward to playing basketball when we go, but for some reason the Island Retreat has quit maintaining their basketball court and does not advertise the amenity at all any more. I am writing this review hoping that they would take the time and resources to replace the damaged backboard and rim and hopefully fix it for our vacation in June this year. I hope they do not get rid of it, as it is just one of many aspects we love about the island retreat. Both their pools are awesome, and they have a sand volleyball court which is awesome (as long as it is kept up). They are very reasonably priced as well. It would be hard to compare because we have never been anywhere else, but hopefully that says enough about what you need to now about this place. Perfect!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors give you views, but honestly the ease in going to and from the beach and pools is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We have stayed here before and have always had a good experience. Staff is friendly, condos clean, easy access to the beach...the beach front is nice...it was not crowded even on spring break. They even have a security guard.

Room Tip: The condos are the best if you want to have a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaseyIslandR, Front Office Manager at Island Retreat, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with The Island Retreat and would like to say thank you for your positive response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
0.3 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Port Aransas / Beach Area
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Retreat

Property: Island Retreat
Address: 700 Island Retreat Rd, Port Aransas, TX 78373-6012
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended budget accommodation for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Island Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Retreat Hotel Port Aransas
Island Retreat Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing