We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,773)
Filter reviews
1,773 results
Traveler rating
764
502
265
136
106
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
764
502
265
136
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswim up barlife guardssplash padpool areanice resortbedroom condobeach accessfamily vacationtexas coastoff seasonget awaywasher and dryerocean viewcorpus christifull kitchenspring breakslides
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 1,773 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2017

The pool area was nice. The employees working the pool area were nice. My front desk experience was not great the woman who waited on me was very curt.. My daughter-in-law and niece reported similar front desk experiences when they checked in on Saturday afternoon.The Boardwalk was in poor condition. The handicap ramp to the beach was totally impassable and blocked with sand more than 5 feet high.. The able bodied stair access was 3/4 blocked. There was no sign indicating that the handicapped access to the beach was closed.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mgmpjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi there -

Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We'd like to apologize for the inconvenience at the boardwalk. The sand naturally blows onto our walkway and our team does routinely maintain it, however, there are days that are windier than others causing an excess in sand accumulation. We will definitely be working on a better boardwalk clearing schedule so that we may get to the excess sand quicker.

Thank you again, and we hope you can come see us again soon so you may check out our improvements.

Warm Regards,
Martha Castro
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We have taken our triplets to Port Royal for the last 24 summers. We have seen many changes in that time. We always go back. Great views. Right on the beach. Amazing pool. Tons of planned activities for young & old.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denkatbellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled to see you've enjoyed us for the last 24 summers. It's great to be a part of your family traditions.

See you next summer for your 25th summer here!

Cheers,
Martha Castro
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

First off my kids absolutely loved the pool and the beach, unfortunately that's where the good things ended. When I made our reservation I requested an updated room which I didn't receive. I also requested a room on the 3rd floor and was given a room on the 1st floor. Lastly I spent $150 on a cabana and requested it by the last pool and I received a cabana on the complete opposite side of the property. As far as the room goes it was pretty disappointing. When we arrived the floor was pretty dirty and the my wife found a shard of glass on the floor. That's pretty dangerous for my 3 kids who walk around with no shoes. The decor was pretty outdated and some parts of the room had rotted wood. I was very underwhelmed with the room. Extremely bad value.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sherpa718985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi there -

Thank you for reviewing us. Your feedback is extremely important to us as we continue on our quest to excellence. We took note of your feedback and thought we'd share some things with you for future reference.

We'd like to share that all our rooms are currently up to date according to our FF&E standards, however, we understand some decor might seem outdated to others because it really is based on taste. Some of our rooms have all stainless steel, while others use white appliances. It really does depend on our owner's taste.

Also - when it comes to requests it is a little difficult to accommodate every single one during peak season, but I assure you our team tries its best. This is especially true for cabanas, they are sold on a first come first serve basis.

We hope you can give us another try to enjoy all our upgrades around property.

Warm Regards,
Martha Castro
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2017

We have been coming to PR for 20 years and always have a great stay at port royal.
The pools are always pristinely clean!
The accommodations are always clean and spacious (two bedroom)!
Wish the price was a bit lower but it never stopps me from booking here.
And, they do offer "specials"! Get on their email list!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ljd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Hi there -

Thank for sharing your experience. We're thrilled you had a great time and thank you for making us a part of your life experience during the last 20 years!

Warm Regards,
Martha Castro
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017

We have been staying at Port Royal for years! The pool is the BEST part of the resort! We love the poolside cabanas and all the new upgrades to them! With that being said, our $700ish a night "Penthouse" was very much a let down. It is now taken out of rental pool until it has the issues with it are resolved. While that is great for future guests, it doesn't change our experience. The rooms need to be monitored a lot better by the resort if they are going to charge some of the highest prices on the Island.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dianna76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha C, Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi there -

Thank you for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We're sorry to hear about your experience in the assigned unit. Our goal is to keep our property and units in the best shape possible. We do keep track of our units, and do inspections before peak season begins. We are retraining our teams that see the room before guests to tell us if anything is wrong with the room so we can get to any issues before our guests do.

We hope you continue to visit us so you may see our improvements.

Warm Regards,
Martha Castro
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews