We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, quiet place for a weekend.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet place for a weekend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here over a four day weekend as part of a high school band trip. This was my first trip here but our band has stayed here before and I had heard good things about the experience. All in all things went well and we were very happy.

First potential issue was that there was some kind of miscommunication between our group and the travel agent and the hotel, and they had us here Thursday through Sunday instead of Friday through Monday. We found this out the morning we were leaving. We called the hotel from the road and they were immediately able to accomodate the change.

Checkin was really well done considering we had three busses of students and chaperones. They had a staff member board each bus and explain their rules while we made room assignments. They also let our band and orchestra use the ballroom for practice sessions and to store the larger instruments. The staff was really good and helped us with a lot of little things that made the trip much easier for the chaperones.

The condos were nice. We had some one bedroom condos but most of them were two bedroom versions that we put 6 kids in. All of the ones I saw were nice. Our kitchen was stocked with utensils and cookware, full size fridge, and had a dishwasher and a washer and dryer.

As I write this, a part of the pool area was under construction. However, they have two hot tubs, two large pools, a lap pool, and a splash area open. This was plenty of pool space for all of the groups there over the weekend. They have multiple lifeguards on duty at all times the pool is open. They also have multiple grills you can use if you have some charcoal.

The beach are is a short walk. It is very clean with a very wide open and flat sand area.

We had a great weekend and were very pleased with the facility. This trip has turned into an every-other-year event and I can't imagine we won't be back in two years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    413
    219
    108
    80
See reviews for
979
168
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

excellent rooms and kitchen. the first evening, the front desk called to see if things were ok and if we needed anthing. never had this happen in my travel. will stay here again. very clean. the kitchen was veryclean and updated. all the furniture was good

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881ts881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your awesome review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your unit as well as your time spent with us. Hopefully you are able to make it down again soon!

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have stayed at Port Royal and really like it. This year, we went for Easter weekend, and a significant portion of the pools were under construction. Our room was overlooking the construction zone. In all fairness, they did tell us there would be construction in the pool area but we didn't realize that we would reduce the quality of our stay. Also, we were in a non-smoking two bedroom suite, but it smelled like stale smoke when we got checked in. Also I think Easter overlapped with some college spring breaks, as we had a lot of noise at 2am! As always, we love the easy walk to the beach on the boardwalk and the roominess of the condos. I also think the bathroom may have been remodeled; very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2TravelSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. I apologize for the construction lowering the quality of your stay, but am very glad that you enjoyed your remodeled unit and the beach.

Easter is generally a busier time for us as many families want to spend their holidays with us. We do hope that the construction did not discourage you and you will come and visit us when the pool is complete!

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salina, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We spent a week at Port Royal for our spring break vacation and had a GREAT time. We had done some research before we arrived, so the construction wasn't a surprise and it didn't bother us at all. The new kids spray park and shallow-depth heated kiddie pool was AWESOME. My 4 year old had a great time playing with other kids at the resort and my 1 year old could sit in the shallow-depth pool (with a grown-up, of course) and enjoy the water too. The beach is just a short board-walk trip across the sand dunes and is clean and beautiful. We spent time at the beach every day -- catching fiddler crabs, boogie boarding, swimming, chasing waves, building sand castles. My kids loved it!

Our individual unit was clean, spacious, and very nice. The carpet could probably be replaced, but that's getting pretty nit-picky. Our appliances worked great and we loved having a full kitchen. Another member of our family had another unit and it was very nice as well. Yes, we could hear some noise from our upstairs neighbors, but it was never enough to bother us. Since we were long-term renters, we only had housekeeping services once per week. The housekeeping staff was friendly and willing to help us with whatever we needed.

General check-in was smooth and staff was friendly. There is a parking monitor out front to make sure that cars on the property are supposed to be there. They were always friendly and it gave us a feeling of increased security on the property. It seemed like we always saw someone cleaning somewhere on the property. Everything was in very nice shape!

When we arrived, the traffic on Port A was horrendous and we found out it was the last day of Texas spring break. The next day, it was a comparative ghost town. We often had the beach, pool, or hot tub to ourselves during our stay. If you're traveling during the Texas spring break, be prepared for more crowds and traffic -- but don't let that stop you! You will still have a good time!

Overall, we had a fantastic family vacation. Don't hesitate to book your reservation here. I can't wait to go back next year and see their big, new improved pool area.

Room Tip: We were in a 3 bedroom unit in building 4, which meant our balcony overlooked the ocean. I think bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSUMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome and detailed review of our resort.

We are thrilled that you and your family had such a great time with us and were able to test out the new children's splash area and heated pool!

We can't wait for you all to return and see the finished product! Please come back soon.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We just got back from spring trip. This is our fourth time at Port Royal condos. We've been in two and one bedrooms. Currently the pool is being remodeled and an unsightly mess. Have to walk all around to get to beach. he beach was very clean though! We loved it.

The supposed lap pool just added is merely a heated rectangle pool for kids and volleyball. prob because 3/4 of its pools are closed. The hot tub closes at 11 pm - a real bummer in my opinion, maybe mid it is better. The help affront desk was very helpful!!!! We have never eaten in restaurant, so no opinion there. Towels are small, but we bring our own. also you have to bring your own beach towels, no big deal. I think the rooms are good sized, sofa couch was queen size, nice!!!!
The store there sells a little of everyone, nice, but they close at 9pm, wish that was 10pm.
The condo complex is located exactly in middle of island, nice location to port aransas, and to Corpus Christi.
No problems with roudy guests, they have security outside that keeps the place secure and nice.

Room Tip: Ask if room has sofa couch and what size, all rooms are a little different unfortunately. Pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparent11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for providing us with great feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience of the remodeling, but we are glad that you had a great time at the beach! We are also thrilled to hear that the front desk was helpful.

On the weekends, the hot tub and pool area are open until midnight and the Port Store is open until 10 p.m. However, I have mentioned your suggestions to management!

We do hope that you will return once it is finished. It will be awesome!

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to be staying in Port A for the first time. It was spring break but I can't say we were bothered by the drunk teenagers.

First know, this is a fishing place, swimming in the ocean is NOT the main attraction. It is very nice that Port Royale has a boardwalk directly attached to the beach, but you aren't right on the beach. We thought there would be lounge chairs on the beach, not so. It is a public beach, you can't take the port Royale towels down to the beach.

Because of the major construction, you have to walk through the parking garage to get to the boardwalk. Kinda gross and not attractive. A big pool was open but too cold to get in. The one open hot tub was super packed, and the heated lap pool was so packed the water was murky. Don't get me wrong, once construction on the pools are complete, they will be awesome. But be aware of what phase they are in.

This isn't a luxury place with luxury rooms. They are sufficient and well priced but don't encourage you to stay in much. And as a side note, the towels are tiny! Again, this might be what you are looking for, just sufficient, but wanted to let you know.

We won't come back, just because it didn't end up being our type of place. That shouldn't discourage you, just ask the right questions about the construction and understand what you are getting.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi Sara,

Thank you so much for your feedback and helpful comments. It is unfortunate that you won't be returning, but hopefully one day you will give Port Royal another chance.

Thank you again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was a great family trip. This resort is located in what I describe as a quaint fishing town. It is like the Key West of the Texas Coast.
The resort has a great location- right on the beach. It has a restaurant, gift shop, amazing pool, kiddie water fun area, pool side cabanas, and large jacuzzi tubs.
The rooms are very large and include a full kitchen. I suggest you request a newly renovated unit on the top floor. There is a boardwalk to the beach where you can fish, jog, make a bon fire, boogie board, or even surf on days when the waves are large.. After a long day of fun you can go back to your room and order room service or put in a DVD. I only left the resort once to drive around Port Aransas in a cute gold cart.

Room Tip: request a renovated room on the top floor for a good view of the ocean and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortRoyalOceanResort, Online Community Manager at Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your awesome response. It sounds like you had an awesome stay with us. Hopefully you will return and have an even better time when the pool renovation is complete!

Thanks again,

Sierra Bowling
Community Relations Manager
Port Royal Ocean Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Aransas hotels
6.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
BEST WESTERN Port Aransas
#1 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Port Aransas
6.1 mi away
Plantation Suites
Plantation Suites
#5 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Island Hotel Port Aransas
Island Hotel Port Aransas
#3 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
5.0 mi away
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
Days Inn Port Aransas TX
#4 of 19 in Port Aransas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
7.2 mi away
Tropic Island Resort
Tropic Island Resort
#16 of 19 in Port Aransas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center

Property: Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center
Address: 6317 State Highway 361, Port Aransas, TX 78373-9712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Port Aransas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Port Aransas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AN ISLAND VILLAGE... with all the amenities of modern civilization, we are the premier Texas resort for family fun and group events on the Gulf of Mexico. Come visit Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center, nestled among the dunes of Mustang Island in Port Aransas, Texas.We think the sea, sun and fun should be part of every memorable business meeting and vacation getaway. Miles of uncrowded beaches, tropical elegance, mild temperatures and majestic wildlife make it possible to beachcomb, frolic and enjoy the Royal Treatment year 'round at Port Royal Ocean Resort Condominiums and Conference Center.You won't find a more luxurious, full-service resort anywhere else on the Texas Gulf Coast...where the sun rises from the sea each morning to greet you with a Royal Welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Port Royal Ocean Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Royal Ocean Hotel Port Aransas
Port Royal Ocean Resort And Conference Center
Port Royal Condos Port Aransas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing