We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beach Area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mustang Island State Park

Mustang Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park on Mustang Island that offers the best camping in the area.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Beach Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This spot was perfect for our family. Wasn't crowded at all. We had a picnic table, porta potty, and shower all near by us. Perfect place to take the family for an outing at the beach. Definite re-visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank honiebear420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    142
    55
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Warm Water and sunny skies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beach was great and not overcrowded. Be prepared for lots of seaweed! We were able to park right on the beach which makes toting everything quite handy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsBoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place to hang out at the beach!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Nice place to picnic as they have tables and for grilling, you'll need to bring your own grill. Clean beachhead with portable restrooms, and a brick and mortar restroom a little walk away. Not too crowded and there are option to park vehicle on the beach. Entrance fees are $5 adult, free for children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank clubmayhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

They have all the facilities you need like showers and bathrooms and there fairly clean. But before going in ask the ranger if there are a lot of jelly fish we went and the place was bombarded by them and they didn't say anything to us about it before paying. It cost 5 dollars per person to get in and we couldn't even go in the water or even walk the shore since they were being washed up. The jelly fish will sting even if they are lying on the shore my daughter got stung by one on the foot. Luckily we go to beach a lot and are experienced with this always take a bottle of vinegar and some backing soda mix the two to make a paste and put it on the skin were the jelly fish stung you and it will help the pain go away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Not perfect, but was exactly what our family needed. Will be going back.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I really cant understand the recent very poor reviews. It feels like the people gave bad reviews due to getting stung by jelly fish, it seems wrong to give the park an overly harsh review for something they have no control over. Be fare people.

I did a lot of research and choose this park after reading the reviews on here, really glad we did. Its was exactly what our family was looking for:

Not overly crowded.
Camping directly on the beach.
Fires allowed on beach.
Showers and bathrooms.

As a bi-racial family it was nice that there was a good variety of people at the park. A little bit of everything, we felt right at home.

Park rangers were friendly when we needed them for something, took regular patrols, locked the gate at night. We felt safe in the park at all times. They were present but we never felt like they were watching our every move. Exactly what I want out of a ranger.

Port a potty and cold showers along the camping side of the beach. They are what they are. You can either use them or not, they cleaned them on Monday after the weekend, could be done before the weekend or during, were pretty gross by Sunday. But we camped near the entrance and drove to the main bathrooms most of the time.

Hot showers and clean bathrooms are near the RV parking lot. Would be nice if they built one closer to the beach camping area. But not a huge deal for us. Cleaned each morning we were there. Would be nice to have more of them, had lines for showers on Saturday morning. Other days there was no wait.

I can see this being a little of a beating for RV campers, they are a bit of a walk or drive to the beach, but we tent camped and it was amazing to fall asleep and wake up to the waves. And look out the tent door and see the water each morning.

Beach was nice. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out, so you never felt crowded by people. Everyone else camping was friendly but also kept to them selves for the most part. Bring an awning, would not have been nearly as enjoyable without our awning. Serves as a shade, wet clothes hanger, and shelter from afternoon storms. It does get windy sometimes, but was pleasant with a breeze most of the time.

Biggest down side is that there is a sand road that runs between the camping side of the beach near the dunes, and the actual water, would have been great if the road was behind the camping area. Fine most of the time but we did have to police our son from going out into the driving lane. Was kind of annoying. Thats really the only reason I wouldn't give this place 5 stars.

Overall we had a wonderful time camping here. I think beach camping just isn't for everyone, I wasn't sure it was for us until we enjoyed it so much. Next time we will take a 4x4 so we can explore the beach more, its needed in some places. But you can easily drive on the beach up to a point in a 2 wheel drive car. Rangers even said they would be happy to tow us out if we got stuck and not to worry too much about it.

Ohh and we were there in June and didn't see one jelly fish.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank ashzerodg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Island State Park also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mustang Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing