We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Mustang Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park on Mustang Island that offers the best camping in the area.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love the fact that I can fish from the State Park without a Texas Fishing license. The patrols are frequent making for a safe environment. The dislike is the seaweed piled up on the beach, but that is nature. LOL

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Devin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    156
    59
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful relaxing beach”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Had a wonderful time with my family there. The beach is clean, peaceful, and beautiful. The kids really enjoyed it. If you want a beach to relax in , this is the one. Look forward to going back again in the summer!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank monjonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, relaxing park”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My beautiful wife and I RV'd to the Mustang Island State Park this past weekend for the Annual Sandfest. This was our first visit to this park. We get our money's worth with our State Park Annual Pass, and this park is one of the reasons we have one. The park is clean, all RV sites are 50amp with water. As usual at State Parks, there is no sewer, but a dump station. Great beach access, nice, movable picnic tables at the sites and the beach. The staff is knowledgeable about the wildlife and very accommodating. We suggest the guided beach walk. Park Ranger Mike, who could easily be on Duck Dynasty, was our guide and he was great. If you want some isolation, seclusion on the beach if you want, this park works. If you plan on going into Port Aransas very often, it a few miles into town from the park. I suggest, if you need groceries or other shopping, go south to South Padre Island Drive, much closer and the grocery store is the first exit across the causeway bridge. We traveled here with two other RVer couples. It was a great trip. As usual this time of year, there was a little grass on the beach but it was still good for shelling. We will be back to this one again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cleaner and beautiful”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Mustang beach may be further but with it. Not only is it cleaner than south padre it is beautiful and more picturesque. Horse back riding is nice just to watch. Go you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This beach was nice and clean.Very enjoyable.Beach was clean,quite and very relaxing!!! We love the beach!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Island State Park also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mustang Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing