We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, relaxing park”

Mustang Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park on Mustang Island that offers the best camping in the area.
Buda, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, relaxing park”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My beautiful wife and I RV'd to the Mustang Island State Park this past weekend for the Annual Sandfest. This was our first visit to this park. We get our money's worth with our State Park Annual Pass, and this park is one of the reasons we have one. The park is clean, all RV sites are 50amp with water. As usual at State Parks, there is no sewer, but a dump station. Great beach access, nice, movable picnic tables at the sites and the beach. The staff is knowledgeable about the wildlife and very accommodating. We suggest the guided beach walk. Park Ranger Mike, who could easily be on Duck Dynasty, was our guide and he was great. If you want some isolation, seclusion on the beach if you want, this park works. If you plan on going into Port Aransas very often, it a few miles into town from the park. I suggest, if you need groceries or other shopping, go south to South Padre Island Drive, much closer and the grocery store is the first exit across the causeway bridge. We traveled here with two other RVer couples. It was a great trip. As usual this time of year, there was a little grass on the beach but it was still good for shelling. We will be back to this one again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikey143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    156
    59
    20
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cleaner and beautiful”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Mustang beach may be further but with it. Not only is it cleaner than south padre it is beautiful and more picturesque. Horse back riding is nice just to watch. Go you won't be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This beach was nice and clean.Very enjoyable.Beach was clean,quite and very relaxing!!! We love the beach!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great beach and fishing!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went over the weekend. This is a state park with showers and rest rooms. Nothing fancy. Serves it's purpose well. RV spaces are basically an asphalt parking lot but the cost outweighs any negatives. If you want to park your RV, have access to a great beach and great fishing you can't beat it. We had a relaxing weekend. If your expecting lots of trees for shade and a space on the beach you may want to spend much more and look for an RV park closer or in Port Aransas.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very nice beach”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Mustang Island was a great experience. The beach is very beautiful and very clean. It was a nice day so we had a great experience. The children had loads of fun in the sand and in the water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank philip0424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Island State Park also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mustang Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing