We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The back up plan”

Mustang Island State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: State Park on Mustang Island that offers the best camping in the area.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The back up plan”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

went to padre but we needed hookups so we wondered up to mustang. i was dissapointed that people let their dogs sit in the campers and bark all day but it did force me to get out of bed and hit the beach. coyotes are noisey at night so if you hear a weird noise and have no clue what it is, it is a coyote. we had a fire on the beach with some scavenged wood the last night and it was amazing. saw some guys fishing on the jetty with flashlights and they had a good haul of flat silver fish. showers are disgusting, dont forget your flip flops when you use it and do not touch the walls. other women seemed a lil weird about me changing in the common area of the ladies shower room but i was not changin in that stahl! met some real life working traveling gypsies. the staff was mostly nice but on the last day they knocked on the door like the police (because they are the police) and tried to say we didnt pay but after going to the offie i found out that they just forgot to take the 3 digit code off the back of my card because we checked in when the computers were down. a simple note on my truck would have done just as well. ( i cant get sleep anywhere) will be back next october with a group of friends. oh i think i should cover the drinking thing. no open containers to me meens drink, use a koozie and dont be a drunken a hole and you wont have a problem. as the rappers say, dont start no stuff wont be no stuff. PLEASE PICK UP SOME EXTRA TRASH ON THE BEACH WHILE YOU ARE THERE !!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 612candi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    161
    61
    20
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Texas Winters at the Beach are Great”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very few people on the beach. 80 degree day. This is what we love about going to the beach in the off season.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant staff, beautiful beach”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I walked on the beach after a work event. The park fee is only $5 to enter and there's a nice park office with soft drinks for sale (and restrooms downstairs).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“BEST RESTING EVER”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

For the past 23 years I have been to Mustang Island State Park at least once a summer, sometimes twice. We use the RV Parking and yes the sites are close together, but how much time in your RV? We stay on the beach nearly all day, taking a cooler and sandwiches for noontime. After showering, we go to Snoopys for fish and Ice Cream. Late evening we drive back on the beach, roll the windows down and enjoy the sound of the surf and watch the ghost crabs as they scurry across the sand. There is no other beach I know of that you can drive on endlessly, enjoying people and watching the cranes as they cruise the beach line and gulls as they dive for fish. Also this "stuff" people refer to as sea grass is actually called sargasum. If you learn a little bit about this "stuff" you will learn that as they rake it, it is pushed toward the dunes and not only helps build the dunes, but also provides a barrier to flat land when hurricanes occur and if you look carefully, you can find small crabs. Go to the Texas Beaches, explore, learn and have fun!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had our wedding ceremony here, and couldn't have asked for much more. Beautiful sandy beaches. Pretty clean too. Seaweed wasn't a huge problem like it can be further down north on the beach. It smelled lovely. Not fishy like Galveston can. You just pay $10 and can park anywhere you want and pitch a tent or sleep in your car. Very open and relaxed. Port-a-potties are set up sporadically down the shore so it's relatively rugged, but that part of it's beauty --being underdeveloped.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JenaWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mustang Island State Park also viewed

 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mustang Island State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing