We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Italian food a slightly hard to find”

Paesano's Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 892 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good Italian food a slightly hard to find”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This restaurant is located in a hidden location right in the middle of one of the busiest parts of the Dallas Metroplex. I know it sounds hard to imagine, but it is true.

But once you find it, it is worth the effort. The food is excellent. The sauces are superb and the service is just right, not over powering, but attentive enough so that when you need something the wait staff is right there to take care of it.

We have been looking for an Italian place that compares to places on “the Hill” in St. Louis since we moved back to Dallas. I think we have found it.

Oh yeah, prices, they are reasonable.

I do agree with some other reviewers, the decor needs some minor updating. Not a lot, part of the charm is the decor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadHunter11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Food, Dated Decor”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I went to Paesano's last night for the first time. It has been in Plano for years, but for some reason, we never noticed it. We were very pleasantly surprised at the food and the service. All old Italian standby dishes are on the menu, and they are very reasonably priced. We took leftovers with us because the portions were huge! My only criticism is that it is housed in an old building that is dark and could use updating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
119 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“We really like this Italian restaurant”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you are looking for high end atmosphere, Paesano's is not the place for you. If you are looking for good food and a friendly staff, Paesano's is a great place to dine. As one reviewer said: "Would never guess you can get great Italian food here." He is right.
Their signature dish is Osso Bucco. It is outstanding and is large enough that I always eat it a second time at home. My wife likes the chicken and veal marsala.
I have also enjoyed lunch here. The snapper is a great dish for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cordpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Very much like an Italian restaurant in NYC. Food was very good, but the place is old, and could use some updating.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ny2plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“average”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Seating was cramped and the service slow. Older style resaurant with extensive menu, but many were the same item with just a different sauce.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paesano's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Paesano's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing