We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Dinner & Friday Night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geisha Steak & Sushi

Geisha Steak & Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Geisha Steak & Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #228 of 865 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Coit Rd. and Silverglen Dr.
Description: Here tradition takes a step forward in Japanese casual dining. Come celebrate your special occasion in our Hibachi party room, or just drop by whenever you want a great meal. If you can't make it into enjoy the beautiful atmosphere of our restaurant. Enjoy our wide selection of specialty rolls, sashimi, sushi, soups, salads, robata (skewers), noodles, Japanese entrées, teppanyaki. Our hibachi chefs prepare your food right in front of you, typically with theatrical flair. Our sushi and dinner combos are very popular, and we also have a kids' menu. Our fully stocked bar offers a range of soft drinks, beer, wine, sake and specialty cocktail drinks that fully complement your meal. Ask about how we can cater your next event.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Dinner & Friday Night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband & I ate here there last night. The place was clean, had a nice atmosphere and we were seated right away with no wait. We ordered only sushi rolls from the menu and only had iced tea. The California rolls are just ok and the volcano roll was not worth the price and was just OK. The Cajun roll was my favorite and the Texas roll was the best of all of the rolls we had and we highly recommend the Texas roll. The place is cozy, the lights not too bright and they had a musician playing acoustic guitar which I thought was a nice touch.

We had a groupon so the price was just right for us. We would definitely go back and give it another try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tammybeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Addison, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You may NOT have time...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had lunch at Hibachi grill. Service was non-existent. Food was average. Portions are never consistent as we've seen from previous trips (this seems to be the norm).
Not only did we have to wait on knives, drinks, etc....
There was a party of 5 men at our table in which one man ordered a bento box and NEVER got his lunch by the time the other 4 had eaten. All were discussing this at the table and the various servers could never get it together enough to bring his food.
I would seriously re-consider going to this place unless you have enough time to waste.
You may NOT have time.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Earlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuan V, Owner at Geisha Steak & Sushi, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Please accept out apologies for the quality of service you experienced. Our service is not usually like that. We had a new server that had to jump in to take tables because we were short on staff. Not an excuse, just explaining the situation. We are fully staffed now and would welcome you to come back. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh but plain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The service here was excellent, the food was very fresh. I thought the food lacked flavor though. It was bland to me.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfectly Cooked Hibachi, Hard to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Our Hibachi chef, Jonathan, cooked everything perfectly, from the seafood to the veggies. Seasoning was perfect. No need for the sauces, which were so tasty, it was a shame not to use them.
I think we'll skip that well known Hibachi chain, and stick with Geisha. I've never had seafood that wasn't cooked to rubber, with the other guys. The soup and salad were also better.
My son wasn't overly excited about the sushi, but said it was still better than the other place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BethKDfw_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not too shabby!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The food is good, but the fried rice is a hit or miss. Ours was a bit burnt and it was still served to us. We could even smell burntness on the rice. The service was good. If you have a coupon it's an excellent deal--take it!!! But, it's definitely no Benihanas!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank AtotheNtotheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisha Steak & Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Geisha Steak & Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing