We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Few shortcomings, but excellent overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NYLO Plano at Legacy
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Plano
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    188
    95
    55
    42
See reviews for
65
218
54
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

HOTEL SELECTION:
Was in Dallas doing business near the Galleria area, but had heard about the NYLO hotel from a friend. Decided to stay in Plano and booked the hotel through their web site. Paid $149 for 1 night. Web site was easy to use and showcased the hotel well.

ARRIVAL:
Hotel is located in a field all by its self. From the exterior, it doesn't look like your traditional hotel. Even the signage is unique. If you were just passing through the area, you wouldn't know it was a hotel.

CHECK IN:
Once you enter the the hotel through the big red doors (kind of reminds be of going to Talbot's Department Store), you enter into a very trendy hotel lobby. Very unique lobby layout and furniture. Front desk agent was pleasant and shared with me the highlights of the hotel (i.e. free WiFi and where to find breakfast). It was late and I asked if there was dinner room service and he said no, but if I was nice, he might be able to deliver it to my room. Also asked about airline miles for my stay and was told they weren't available.

ROOM:
The rooms are unique. I'm still not sure if I like them or not. I do like that they're 'different' - i.e. warehouse feel, new, trendy, etc. But didn't like that I felt really cramped. The desk faced the wall and although it was on rollers, it was difficult to turn it far enough to work and watch TV. The TV was a nice flat screen on a wall mount that pulled away from the wall far enough to be seen from the desk around the corner. Bed was very comfortable. Unique designed actually placed the bed in front of the window, but a step up each side of the bed allowed me to get in behind the bed in order to look out and see the courtyard below.

BATHROOM:
I loved the shower and especially the 'rain soaking' shower head. However, the lighting in the bathroom was really the worse lighting I ever experienced in a hotel bathroom. Florescent lighting is not for me. Bathroom door is a sliding door you'd find in most warehouses. Bathroom was separate from the room, but isn't fully enclosed. The walls don't go all the way to the ceiling either. For a single traveler, no big deal. If there are 2+ in the room, the sounds from the bathroom could be heard in the room.

RESTAURANT:
I arrived late and just wanted to order room service. No luck. Had to go to the restaurant and place and order and then ask for it to go. I ordered french dip and it was very good. Breakfast was also good cooked to order along with a nice selection of other items.

POOL / COURTYARD / BUSINESS CENTER:
To get to the pool you have to go through the restaurant, which is a really crazy design. If I was traveling with my family, it'd be very awkward. The courtyard was well groomed, but with temperatures over 100, no one was outside. There was a huge fireplace lit at the pool. This seemed very strange. The hotel promotes itself as a 'green' friendly hotel and according to the welcome letter, they purchase renewable energy credits. But to me it seemed like a complete waste of natural resources to keep a huge outdoor fireplace lit when no one was outside and it was in the middle of a HOT Texas summer! Business center is tucked off in the back corner of the restaurant. Went there to print my boarding pass in the morning, but lights and computer were turned off. It was an Apple computer so didn't venture too far into its applications. Printed my boarding pass at the airport.

  • Liked — Trendy look & feel
  • Disliked — Small rooms, terrible bathroom lighting
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Deontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I travel to the North Dallas area quite often and thought I'd give this hotel a shot to earn my continued business. Bad idea. I called the property directly to book the reservation and was told my room would have 2 queen beds in it. I arrived at the hotel to see a front desk staffed with 5-6 people with none all that eager to help me check in. I finally got to my room and, to my surprise, saw my 2 double beds waiting for me. Down to the front desk. I as pleased when I got back down to the lobby that a manager happened to be at the front desk. I voiced my concern over being told I would have 2 queen beds when I booked my reservation. Silence. I tried re-wording what I had just said. The manager (Joe I think his name was) tried to mumble something about having no more rooms available. I again said I could not stay in the room with 2 double beds. More mumbling about "no more rooms". This was the manager!!! Needless to say, I checked out and went back to old reliable Marriott. At least I know now....still can't believe the manager was that clueless and unwilling to help...at all.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadwarrior610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

This hotel is an odd-ball, but a good choice nonetheless, particularly at the price, which manages to undercut most of the surrounding area's businessman's hotels which don't have a tenth of its aspirations.

First of all, the idea of dropping an urban hyper-styled boutique hotel in Plano is a bit audacious. And it's not like this is some hip Craftsman-and-Victorians corner of Plano, this is hardcore Texas exurbia -- in the middle of an unlandscaped parking lot hard on a six-lane artery, surrounded by an under-construction shopping plaza, an anonymous low-rise office park, and a field full of crops ready for harvest.

For all that "NY" is in the name, the template really is Westside LA, most obviously in the parking, the generously-sized rooms, and the spacious bar/restaurant/library combination which flows into a large, aggressively-furnished patio and pool area (with a fireplace by the pool). Space wouldn't be used anything like this in New York.

For a hotel with such ambitions, there were some strange absences. The entrance is a simple double door -- no port cochere, no doorman, and it is unstaffed beyond that: no valet parkers and no bell service.

The rooms (I stayed in a mini-suite) are ordinary-sized for a suburban business hotel, and, as I mentioned, large by the standards of you're-too-cool-to-hang-out-in-your-room actual urban loft-type boutiques. I'll echo the prior commenters in terms of the quality of the beds and televisions (including proper HD service on many channels and a far choice of HD on demand movies). Now worthy of special note is the fact that the free Wifi is at acceptable speeds; too many recent properties I've stayed at have offered totally insufficient speeds on their free (or even not-free) WiFi connections.

As remarked by many prior posters, the lack of a fully-enclosed bathroom is eccentric at best; and probably only works because the vast majority of guests are solo travelers on business. I suspect the first renovation of the property will seal up the bathrooms. The rest of the high-end-looking bathroom fixtures are fine, albeit very much of the moment (flat-bottomed bowl-on-counter sinks will be as to the mid-late-00s as avocado-colored fridges are to the mid-70s.)

I had an early dinner downstairs, which was fine and reasonably priced, with friendly service. Didn't push too aggressively into the menu, though. Didn't really sample the bar scene, but I can imagine that (for Plano) it's probably a decent hang-out late at night. The breakfast was a tad disappointing, but fair for the price.

I got no bar noise at all, and was only on the third floor -- maybe it was a slow night?

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2008

I recently moved to Oklahoma from Plano and when I was looking for hotels in the Dallas area, I noticed this really cool new hotel and was surprised that it wasn't downtown. I hadn't intended to stay this far north but since we weren't planning on going downtown at night, I decided to try it out. There is no other hotel like this anywhere near the area and it was SO affordable!!! My boyfriend and I stayed on a Saturday night and LOVED the fact that we didn't have to drive 20 minutes for a little nightlife. It was perfect.
P.S.....the short-rib tacos are delicious!

  • Liked — Lounge w/live DJ. No drinking & driving!
  • Disliked — entrance/lobby
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokitty0369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

I have traveled extensively for business and pleasure over the last 25 years. This hotel is perhaps in my top 5 hotels of all time for its sheer comfort and uniqueness. The ambiance is warm and comforting after a long day on the road. The extra touches like 32 inch flat panel tvs were quite nice, and the rooms was like no other I have ever stayed in. It blows away the traditional hotel room with its design and comfort. The glass shower was really nice. But probably the best feature of all was the comfortable bed with its 5 oversized pillows. Free wirelees internet was a nice feature too. What a gem this place is in the middle of Plano! I hope they expand this brand to other cities.

  • Liked — unique room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank otisnlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plano hotels
1.7 mi away
aloft Plano
aloft Plano
#15 of 45 in Plano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Plano - Frisco
0.8 mi away
Hilton Dallas Plano Granite Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dallas/Plano Marriott at Legacy Town Center
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas / Plano-East
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Plano Frisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO Plano at Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Plano at Legacy

Property: NYLO Plano at Legacy
Address: 8201 Preston Rd, Plano, TX 75024-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Plano at Legacy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO Plano--the original NYLO hotel--blends NYLO's signature urban, industrial design with classic Texas comfort to provide an unmatched and highly social hotel experience. Business and Leisure travelers alike will enjoy chic loft-style accommodations, NYLO's signature LOCL Bar & Restaurant, a heated outdoor pool, a state of the art gym, and 1,800 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO Plano at Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Plano At Legacy Hotel Plano
Nylo Hotel Plano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing