We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel needs better climate control.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NYLO Plano at Legacy
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Plano
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were here for business. Excellent staff and property very clean. We liked the clean, minimal decor and architecture. Great shower and comfy bed but the bottom sheet was not fitted so was impossible to keep on mattress. Climate control is an issue. Rooms have a small ac/heat unit that is mounted at the top of the wall at the ceiling and ceilings are very high. Put the thermostat on 64 degrees...which is as low as it will go...and room was slightly warm the entire stay. Actually went and purchased a small fan...which made it tolerable. Overheard other guest complaining about same issue. No mini fridge in rooms. Great AM shuttle service. I rated the sleep quality low only because it was sooo hot!

Room Tip: Bring a fan for summer or heater for winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 718 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just took advantage of a Travelzoo deal at NYLO at Legacy for a quick Austin getaway. At first shot, the exterior of the building is cool. The front desk checked us in quickly and we really liked the room. Very small, minimalistic in style and very functional in the way they've designed it. They had a Keurig in the room, great well designed shower. Bed comfortable and actually great pillows.
The downside is the ambiance, and general planning for the entertainment/meal/pool area. It looked like they were trying to be very New York, very hip. Almost made it. The pool is more like a very short lap pool (about 4 1/2 feet deep and maybe 20 feet long. Very cool looking at night with a gas lit long fireplace. However, when you get 5-6 kids in it, there's really no room for adults to relax in the pool. Tried on 2 occasions to get in the pool, but with just a few people (families) it's pretty full and not relaxing. You have to walk through the bar/restaurant to exit the pool. Not good planning and a little tacky. Food was good and our service all around was good. But design wise they missed the mark for an adult geared hotel. Most of the people that we saw this weekend were 40-60, so techno music on Friday night...not a good idea. All in all, not horrible, but probably wouldn't return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kayakutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was here for one night only . The architecture is like a loft and the furnishings are all rather trendy. The rooms are OK, not large but sufficient a. It was a nice stay for a business trip. The location is good, are fast food restaurants and others close by. The staffs there were nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NativeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I was here for business by myself and was impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. It felt like a SOHO hotel in Texas. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and very cool looking if you like a NY loft kind of feel. May not be comfortable for everyone. The shower was a rain shower and the bed was very comfortable. Although I liked the hotel, there is still room for improvement in some areas. In my room, there was no remote control for the TV, which made it kind of annoying. I went to the fitness center in the early morning before sunrise and the lighting in there was very "mood" like rather than illuminating...meaning it was kind of dark. The equipment was OK, but since the hotel was somewhat new, I was expecting newer equipment. It wasn't old, just not the latest. The fitness center was very clean, had towels on the equipment and had cardio, some free weights, a bosu ball and only 1 mat though. I had breakfast at the hotel, which was OK. I got oatmeal with granola and fruit and there was very little fruit or granola. Overall, good look, good staff, but needs to work out some kinks to get a better rating, which I am sure they will do.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Too 'hip' for a couple of 60-somethings? Not at all! Loft style rooms with exposed brick and concrete ceiling/walls softened by curtains plus really comfy beds and a very usable loveseat/ottoman/tray combo. In our room, the translucent green curved wall of the large shower was a feature instead of being walled off... hard to imagine but a cool touch. Great assortment of not-ho-hum bath products, Keurig, iron and board... three cool sets of hanging lights... really everything was very well-thought out and user-friendly and just fun. Great public spaces and courtyard. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was here for one night only and the place is heavily affiliated with Capital One. The architecture is nice and the furnishings are all rather special. The rooms are large and the facilities are really well designed! It was a nice stay for a business trip. The location is not that nice, close to a few fast food restaurants, but far away from downtown. The staffs there were nice and friendly. Great for a short stay, but to learn more about the city, probably better to stay at a better location.

Room Tip: Choose a large room with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ultraman500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

So the decor was neat. But I noticed right away rips in fabric in the lobby. The shower curtain was also ripped in our room, and the towels were scratchy.
There was a wedding so it was kind of chaotic. We were awakened twice by partiers headed to their rooms and another two times by surrounding rooms having sexytimes. (The concrete walls didn't block/absorb noise very well.)
My biggest complaint was that the room was incredibly hot. We both sweated throughout the night. Profusely. We checked the settings numerous times to make sure it was in cool, but it just would not get to a comfortable temperature.
The one staff member we interacted with was pleasant and efficient. We avoided the pool and bar due to the wedding.
Overall, won't go back if the AC isn't fixed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plano hotels
1.7 mi away
aloft Plano
aloft Plano
#18 of 47 in Plano
290 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plano Legacy Frisco
1.4 mi away
Dallas/Plano Marriott at Legacy Town Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Dallas Plano Granite Park
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Plano
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Dallas / Plano-East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NYLO Plano at Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NYLO Plano at Legacy

Address: 8201 Preston Rd, Plano, TX 75024-2308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Plano
Price Range: $99 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NYLO Plano at Legacy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NYLO Plano--the original NYLO hotel--blends NYLO's signature urban, industrial design with classic Texas comfort to provide an unmatched and highly social hotel experience. Business and Leisure travelers alike will enjoy chic loft-style accommodations, NYLO's signature LOCL Bar & Restaurant, a heated outdoor pool, a state of the art gym, and 1,800 square feet of meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your NYLO Plano at Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nylo Plano At Legacy Hotel Plano
Nylo Hotel Plano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing