We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even the New Yorker's like this one”

Nicola's Ristorante Italiano
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante Italiano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #92 of 875 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bishop
Lufkin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Even the New Yorker's like this one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

When we are in Plano and want some REALLY GOOD Italian Food and wines our New York friends take us to Nicola's. The appetizers are the BEST!!! The pasta dishes and the main menu items are Marvelous!!! They have upstairs dining downstairs and outside dining. Valet parking is also available. I have eaten here probably a dozen times for lunch and dinner and can honestly say that i have NEVER been disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    50
    21
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Service was very good. The flat bread was yummy and a large portion. The second time I went and had the swordfish special which was terrific!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
315 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Dallas Fort Worth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

At last a truly great Italian place. I go there frequently rather it is ultra busy or a quite day the food is always fresh creative and of superb quality. The service has always been top of the line . They make you very comfortable and you are attended to unobtrusively and yet no need is unmet. Each dish is presented like a work of art. I could go on for pages about the wonderful tastes of each dish. If you are in the area and do not hit this place you have a hole in your trip or evening. It is sooooooooooooooo great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josephbarbknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great food, service can be hit and miss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ate here 2 times on the recent visit. Service was great one night and not so good another. Simple things like informing the specials, refilling water glasses or offering cracked pepper or parmesan were overlooked one night. Forget about getting a lemon with your water. This was a fail on both nights. Food was consistent both nights and very good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank aerobik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Happy birthday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ate dinner here with friends (first time for us). Appreciated that we were able to get in on a Saturday night--had a comfortable table near the window where we could watch and comment on all the passers-by! Italian restaurant with dishes that were just a little different (what to choose?!). Plenty of delicious food--we were all happy with our choices. Special surprise...tiramisu birthday cake! We did not feel rushed at all (they kept filling our water glasses); nice to be able to relax and visit. Only disappointment--we had to ask for bread!! But, they were happy to oblige...and oh my, it was delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank andir2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicola's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Nicola's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing