We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST if you're at the Shops of Legacy!”

Nicola's Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicola's Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 905 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $16 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bishop
Description: Welcome to Nicola's Ristorante Italiano, the award-winning restaurant in Plano's The Shops at Legacy. You will love our authentic, hand-crafted Italian cuisine. We use centuries old recipes handed down in the old country for generations. All pasta is hand-made on site, sauces are created from scratch, we bake our own bread in our wood-burning oven and groceries are delivered twice a day to insure market-fresh ingredients. The only freezer we have in the kitchen is for gelato! Relax in the whimsical, sophisticated design which includes an active bar and adjoining lounge, private, high-backed booths, curtained nooks for romantic dinners and seating on the mezzanine overlooking all the action below. Our popular patio areas out front and to the side are delightful for happy hour, lunch or dinner dining, or simply the best people watching in town.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A MUST if you're at the Shops of Legacy!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a very delightful restaurant in a great location. They have indoor and outdoor seating and beautiful decor throughout. Last night I had the seafood risotto, and my boyfriend had the Australian lamb chops. Our dinner was delicious and the service was very good. This was my second time here, an I will be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeggyAnne777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    53
    24
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have tried Nicola's several times and each time was worse than before. Last time I actually got up and walked out. Was seated in a terrible spot. I often dine alone, and usually have a great experience. I was ignored, ignored, ignored....the menu selections are not that great; and the service is awful...pass on this one!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience Overall”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We enjoyed another great dining experience at Nicola's this past Saturday night with friends who had not been there before. We told them they would enjoy it and they were raving before we got to the second course! Our server, David, was informative, courteous and attentive. The kitchen staff accommodated our request to prepare a pasta dish that had long been on their menu but was recently replaced, and they did it....Bravo.

The wine list is diverse and offers plenty of options beginning with aperitifs right on through dessert selections.

Our guests marveled at the beautiful presentation of each dish. Critics say you eat with your eyes first and this was especially true with appetizers, salads, pastas & seafood dishes and, of course, dessert. We had a great variety and everyone was two thumbs up on all--three different salads, an eggplant dish, the risotto of the night, salmon, cioppino, pasta and a couple of desserts.

Nicola's is a top choice for us when it comes to Italian cuisine in this area. Signor Picky looked long and hard to find something to complain about, but nothing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SignorPicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlett, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Great food, unique menu, perfect ambiance! Makes for a wonderful evening out. I have entertained business associates as well as personal friends at Nicolas, and the quality and hospitality is consistently excellent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and food!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've been here several times and it is our favorite Italian place. The ambiance is very nice, food is very good and the service is also decent. We've seen plenty of people here even on weeknights.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMM2013_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nicola's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing