We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown area new venues opening all the time”

Historic Downtown Plano
Ranked #2 of 40 things to do in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, TX
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great downtown area new venues opening all the time”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Small but very nice area to wander some shops, eat & drink, at DART rail line stops right there and area ha grown with condos and restaurants like many other urban oasis downtowns. Love the Fillmore Pub (in an old pharmacy building) and the urban crust pizza joint very cool hangout. Worth a trip!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank dittymau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    40
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Tx
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“stroll around town”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There is a collection of unique stores and restaurants with a warm vib as you stroll around the downtown location of Plano. Whether you are wanting to find that perfect decor item or gift for the hard to find, you can get it amoung these down town shops.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Courtyard Theater is first-rate!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

First time here (oh where oh where have we been!) and will not be the last! We saw the closing night of The Wonderful Mr. PennyPacker. What a treat with a huge cast, great acting, wonderful costumes, clever staging, etc. etc. Open seating so we were in the third row and had so much fun. Don't miss the new season. The multi-purpose space is beautiful as well as functional and is worth visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Surprisingly special”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This area keeps surprising me. For starters urban crust is my favprite pizza place. The rooftop bar in urban crust is cool too and leaving your beer on the 30 degree ice bar will give you a nice surprise when your final sip of beer is as cold as your first.

Angela's at the crosswalk is also impressive. Any time of day check out there breakfast, full coffee bar and full adult bar. The pie is incredible.

Perhaps the biggest surprise is Vickery Park Bar. I was expecting ordinary (but good) bar food. I was pleasantly incorrect when I ate the most unique brisket sandwich I have ever had. The meat marinates in a kaluah BBQ sauce whicb scared me a little bit, but I promise this is not a dessert dish. It is a magnificent blend of flavors that makes my mouth water as I remember it.

All in all I would walk around the area and pick at random. You can't go wrong.

PS if you want to find a beer yOUve never tried before give the filmore pub a try.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Nice area to grab a cold drink and walk around. Lot's of sitting areas and it's fun to look at the architecture stylings from block to block and see how the old meets the new.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank flaneur99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Historic Downtown Plano also viewed

 

Been to Historic Downtown Plano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing