We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican food with atmosphere”
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
osage beach, mo. usa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food with atmosphere”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went there with a large group and it was very nice we had 23 in our party and was served in a pleasant manner. We were able to make a reservation and the food was good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joycefulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
1,727 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 978 helpful votes
“Service Not Up To Acceptabel Standards”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We chose this restaurant on Father’s day and it was not really what we expected. We entered the restaurant at their lunch opening time and there was already a large crowd gathered to enter. We kept noticing that many were being seated in the bar/lounge area and was concerned that they would attempt to place us in that area. We were seated in the main dining room, which was rapidly filling. The waiter brought us the menu and we ordered. I ordered the brunch, which consisted of two eggs, a few fried potatoes and 5 small cuts of sausage. The price--$9.95 which is way too much for this entrees. Others in the party ordered fajitas. The restaurant serves three sauces along with the chips. The chips were thin and delicious as were two of the sauces. The one made with lime was sour and not that tasty. Iced tea was very good. The meal was served and the waiter brought only two tortillas. The waiter was asked to bring two additional tortillas. We are still waiting. It seemed to take forever to get our water and tea glassed refilled. The staff just seemed to be disorganized. The restaurant was about 75% full when we left. Due to the level of service we received and the rather high prices I cannot rate this place higher than two stars.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
439 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Solid As Usual”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of my favorites as the stuffed chicken medallions are always excellent. The service was friendly and attentive. The orders were filled correctly and promptly and all had great flavor. Prices are reasonable and for the overall experience, well worth the visit. These guys never let me down.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicandbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
767 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
“Great Salsa!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We decided to eat at Abuelo's after figuring out there was an hour wait at Whiskey Cake (across the parking lot). I'm glad we made the change! Abuelo's was delicious! They serve 3 different salsa's with their chips, normal red, a spicy dark red & a green sweet sauce. The spicy salsa was some of the best I've ever had.
We're always looking for new Mexican places to take out-of-town guests so we'll definitely add this to our list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, LA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my first time here but definitely not my last. My fraternity brothers and I meet up each year and we decided to try this place which turned out to be one of the best choices yet. Our server, John, was extremely nice (and funny). The food was fantastic! If you get a chance to get happy hour drink prices, you will enjoy that as well.

I can't wait to bring my wife here the next time we're in the DFW Metroplex!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IcebergSlim06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing