We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roy's Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roy's - Plano

Roy's - Plano
Reserve with OpenTable
Roy's - Plano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 875 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Hawaiian, American, Seafood, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Transit: Bus
Description: Blending classic techniques with adventurous Pacific Rim flavors, culinary pioneer Roy Yamaguchi created an entirely new approach to fine dining. The first Roy's opened in Honolulu in 1988 and we've spread our warm hospitality and passion for innovative and creative cuisine around the world ever since. Indulge in one of our spectacular cocktails or choose a glass from our award-winning wine list while you discover the fresh ingredients and outstanding seafood, expertly prepared by our local chefs that made us famous.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Roy's Never Disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I love Roy's. The Plano location was awesome just like the Roy's in Hawaii. The braised boneless short ribs were heaven and just melted in your mouth. Great service. Roy's is usually expensive but the deal during restaurant week was fantastic. Definitely will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GN303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    53
    19
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
346 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Oustanding food & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The food was outstanding, both boneless ribs and salmon. Best dining I've has in a long time. Glad I finally went there. Great service. Will go back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cabotravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It reminds me of the wonderful Roy's restaurants in Hawaii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Whenever we travel to Dallas we almost always eat at Roy's because we always get the same top quality food and service as the ones in Hawaii that we have been to many times. I love the hibachi style salmon with citrus ponzu sauce and the miso butterfish. All the dishes we have tried taste just like the wonderful ones we get on Maui and Oahu. Their desserts are excellent (especially the pineapple upside down cake and the banana cream pie). We will go there again next time because it almost makes us feel we are back in Hawaii!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OKCityJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Can be a bit pricey, but Excellent!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We go to Roy's for special occassions because it can be a bit pricey (by the time you add drinks, appetizer, and salad) for just a regular "let's go out to eat tonight". Somehow though we have added more "special" occassions to our list! A lot of times we get their fix priced meals -- 3 courses for $35 which is a good deal, but many times we can't resist the other menu offerings. Never had a bad thing there; have to try the molten chocolate lava cake. Staff is always very attentive and knowledgeable about the food, and no one rushes you, so you can enjoy a very leisurely dinner in a nice atmosphere. They publish their ever changing menu on their website. We are on their mailing list so every so often we get a $20 coupon. Also if you comment on their Facebook page you could win a $50 gift card which they give away every Monday -- I commented only once and won one!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KDG_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best fusion restaurant I know in Plano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

The best fusion restaurant I know in Plano. Don't forget the desserts!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier_Luxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roy's - Plano also viewed

 

Been to Roy's - Plano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing