We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it if You Can!”

Osaka Sushi & Steak
Ranked #350 of 888 Restaurants in Plano
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avoid it if You Can!”
Reviewed December 26, 2011

This restaurant has been in Plano for several years, and every time I drive past it, it is always packed. For this reason, I decided to give it a try, figuring it would be very good- well, it wasn't. What I thought would be a nice sit-down Japanese restaurant was actually a buffet with horribly bland food sitting under a heat lamp (the taste of the food suggested it had been sitting out all day). The sushi reminded me of pre-packaged grocery store sushi (a bad thing), and the hibachi noodles had absolutely no flavor. The worst part about it was that my dinner ended up costing $72, when I only brought one other person with me. If you are reading this, pass it on to your friends and loved ones, because if you cared about them, you wouldn't allow them to eat this garbage. That's just my two cents.

Helpful?
1 Thank vge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    9
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buffet”
Reviewed December 22, 2011

A lot of options!!
Great food, the service is very nice and friendly. Rolls, ramen, salads, hibachi grill, desserts.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MariCoyotl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“It was okay, it's buffet anyway”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

When I feel like I want to eat a lot of food, I go to buffet. I know buffet quality is not so great, but I would still go... This was Osaka Sushi is all about. A lot of sushi variety, but not good quality sushi, of course. A lot of choice for hibachi and dessert, but they are either so-so or just a little bit above average. However, it is still much better and cleaner than Chinese buffet with similar price. Not my favorite, but I keep it as one of my culinary option.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marthiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DALLAS
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Sushi”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Always enjoy the high quality they maintain. I am not Asian but it is a good sign that most of there customers are.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHNKENT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NASTY”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We have been going to osaka for the past 4 fours year now. Today was the worst EVER !!
Since they changed the manger everything has gone down hill, the quality of the food are dropping rapidly !!!! Its no more than cheap chinese buffet quality!!!! And they even raised their price!!!!! I do not know what make them think that their food worth that much money!!!it is better to go to a real sushi restaurant with a real japanese chef instead of this place !!!!! They have mexican making sushi!!!!! That is a joke to me!!!!!! Am asian and I think this place is horrible now!!!!!the service is fine , the new manager Bill is arrogance , not very friendly , he told us he does not even eat sushi !!!! What is he working in a sushi place for!!!!!!! the bathroom was so nasty !!!!!!!!!!!! I though I was going to use the bathroom in a third world country!!!!!! We will NEVER go back here again !!!!!! If you want to waste your money this is the place for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hungykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osaka Sushi & Steak also viewed

 

Been to Osaka Sushi & Steak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing