We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great patio oasis and good beer selection!”

The Katy Trail Ice House Outpost
Ranked #55 of 899 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great patio oasis and good beer selection!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the best patios in the middle of Plano...you just don't realize it due to all the trees! Food is not great, but definitely above average. Good place for a happy hour w/coworkers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    43
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smokers out front but no real brisket”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

How can a Texas restaurant that has a smoker out front not have real brisket on the menu? False advertising...
Their queso tastes like cheese whiz - no flavor, and runny.
Our waitress, Briana, doesn't have eyes for her customers. It took her 5 visits to our area before I could catch her eye to pay the check.
Outside seating is first-come if you want to have any conversation - you can't have one inside.

Helpful?
Thank JohnGalt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Unsanitary. Disgusting. Couldn't even eat the food.”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Dogs running on tables, sitting on chairs and so forth you get the picture. Met a friend here for a beer. We had to flag down our waitress so many times, I think she thought we were waving at her.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

I love this place!! Awesome outside eating area, great food and drinks! Dallas Texas is impossible to beat for this kind of thing, especially in April!!

Helpful?
Thank Kasey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This place may be a great place if its adult night out, not kid friendly but oddly enough dog friendly.
You can bring your dog and hang outside and drink beer at night. You sit yourself and when you order add/ask for everything you want because if you don't specify you want something they won't offer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rowley848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Katy Trail Ice House Outpost also viewed

 

Been to The Katy Trail Ice House Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing