We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful golf course for all ages”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Courses at Watters Creek
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Golf Club offering 27 holes of championship golf (Blackjack course at 18 holes and the Sawtooth Course at 9 holes,) which features bentgrass greens, tiff fairways, creeks, hills, lakes and lots of trees to make it a real challenge.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful golf course for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have a young golfer in our family and the newly opened Futures Course is an amazing place for her to hone her skills. We are anxously awaiting the new 9 hole course as well. The staff at Watters Creek is very friendly and helpful as well. The driving range and Futures Course is lit until 11pm, which makes there no excuses for not being able to go practice! Very well maintained facilities and groomed courses.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    5
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Tee'd Off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

One of my favorite courses in the area!! The grounds are immaculate, well kept hazards, friendly staff....terrific place for my favorite past time!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

With so many amazing, and inexpensive golf choices in this town, this one is a weak, has-been. Construction materials everywhere, course staff not well educated about proper golf course maintenance. Overpriced and rounds take extraordinarily long time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Golf Course Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Fun golf course! I hit almost every club in my bag, well manicured and open so you can find your ball. However, try to keep it in the short stuff. Even the first cut can be a bit hairy to hit out of.

Not too much to gripe about in terms of my round. It's "cart path only" which is a bit of a pain. Especially if you're out with people missing on opposite sides of the fairway. Lucky for my group, we all tended to miss in the same spot. :-)

I do, however, have one huge issue with this course, and it should be of particular interest to travelers, and it's with the rental clubs.

I didn't want to spend a fortune to ship my clubs, and nobody that I know in the area is the same hand as me, so I played with the facility's clubs. I've been to other courses in the Allen-area and they've all provided me with adequate rentals. But what this place gave me was a set of Paragon's. I'd never heard of that company before.... After I hit the first ball I knew why. It felt as if I was hitting with wooden-headed clubs. And management had the audacity to charge me a $30 rental fee for these things. I can go on overstock.com right now and buy a brand new, entire 14-club set (I only had the woods/hybrids/3-9, the other clubs were a mishmash of 15-20 year-old clubs) for $220.

Overall, this is a fun course, lots of room to miss (but you'll pay for it if you do). However, if you're flying in to Allen, and you don't want to spend the cash to ship your clubs, or you can't borrow some, I'd suggest never, ever play here. Ever.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 955BobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pace of Play”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Enjoyed the course, much improved since renovation. Can't go back until the six hour rounds stop on the weekends. Cart path only and 8 minutes between tee times gets you backed up. Waited on almost every shot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Courses at Watters Creek also viewed

 

Been to The Courses at Watters Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing