We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Cagun food if you are in Texas” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Shells

Half Shells
Ranked #18 of 865 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Cagun food if you are in Texas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ok, it's not Bourbon Street, but if you are in Texas and want some heat, this is the place for you. the Gumbo and red beans and rice are awesome, and the wait staff is always good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Gumbo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The gumbo was great; it included okra just in case you don't like it but I love okra. They were out of fish and chips but was able to substitute the catfish instead of cod. I had a glass of merlot which was good. The calamari was a bit tough but it was well seasoned. If you are in the area give it a try.

Helpful?
Thank Godgotme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal with colleagues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile


Visited on a Wednesday evening, seemed to be filling up fast. Nice food, good service, nothing fancy just really tasty. Oyster nachos were excellent, Mahi Mahi main was nicely done. Wine was good also - didn't try the desserts

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nahill17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Sooner Fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went to the Plano location after the Texas vs Oklahoma game. We experienced excellent service with everyone from "Bo" the general manager to each server and bus staff. The sampler of oyster nachos, fresh soups and delicious specialty dishes on the chalk board made this an surprisingingly affordable, tasty alternative to some expensive steak place with a long wait. Legacy is wonderful to walk and there was a live band just outside to enjoy after dinner. Would DEFINITELY recommend the restaurant as the recipes were delightful and service incredible. Thanks Bo & Staff..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sabrina0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I visited Half Shells on a Friday night and was surprised to see how small the inside of the restaurant was. We opted to sit at the bar to avoid waiting for a table. The bar staff was friendly enough. We both ordered cocktails that were just okay, not really worth the $9 each. We had the Jalapeno shrimp appetizer which was flavorful, and not too spicy, but again average. I ordered the blackened Rainbow trout and it was very salty. I attempted to scrape off the seasoning but the filet was so thin that it wasn't really possible. I ended up filling up on my cheese grits and hush puppies which were excellent. I regret not ordering the Oysters - they looked delicious. Not a bad experience, but I expected more from the good reviews.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank plishyploshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Shells also viewed

 

Been to Half Shells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing