We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went for drinks, great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Whiskey Cake

Whiskey Cake
Reserve with OpenTable
Whiskey Cake is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 875 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Celina, Texas
Level Contributor
506 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Went for drinks, great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

My wife and I went there for drinks last weekend, and we found the atmosphere very appealing, and the bar staff was extremely knowledgeable. It was the perfect blend of a weekend hotspot and personalized experience. We're looking forward to coming back again to have dinner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank So_It_Goes_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    258
    76
    29
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Big waits, but excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants in Plano, if you can handle waits on the weekend. It seems like everyone wants to eat here, but there is a reason. It has a nice menu and lots of locally sourced cool stuff you don't usually see in Plano. The host staff can be a little confused, but the waitstaff and bartenders are good. Plan to have a few drinks at the bar if you're into that. It may look a little franchisey, but I assure you the food is worth it. Patio is pretty great too, with a nice fireplace. Any of the sandwiches are outstanding, but the OMG burger is exceptional.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DallasLonghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Locavore Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Just ate at Whiskey Cake for lunch and had a wonderful food experience.

Let's start with the food which is sourced as locally as possible and nearly everything made inhouse. Piping hot fried green tomatoes and house-made carmelized onion dip with perfect house-made kettle chips got us started. I had the trio of pork sliders served on a brick and topped with slaw and crispy onion strings...delicious. The serving is huge - could only eat one. My husband had the chicken sandwich which is stacked and served on a ceramic tile. He must have enjoyed it as none was left. For dessert we split the Whiskey Cake and could not finish it though we valiantly tried. Easily one of the richest cakes with some of the most heavenly sauce ever! Don't skip the cake!

If you like pita and hummus, fresh mussels, burgers, soup and salad and such, you won't be disappointed. There is something for everyone. Their menu is on their website.

In the afternoon the bar was fairly empty but three pages of beers, liquors and cocktails in single-spaced type (reminiscent of an old typewriter) in the menu probably packs them in at night. But you certainly don't need to imbibe anything to have a great experience at Whiskey Cake. The food is reason enough to come here.

Heeding the long wait complaints of other reviewers, we went after the lunch rush arriving about 1:30 on a Friday. No wait at all. Service was pleasant and prompt.

The ambience defies normal design genres is a kind of very casual "contemporary farm" style with equal parts high ceilings, nice tables and chairs, and pretty lighting and old-farm retro touches like burlap curtains and stainless steel bowl sinks with exposed plumbing at the bathroom vanity, not to mention the "eieio" at the front and actual egg crates standing in for sound insulation on some ceilings.

Somehow it all works and it's an enjoyable place to eat some very good comfort food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becca U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“And Green to boot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great casual restaurant, with exceptional and novel offerings. The topper, though, was the sustainable practices they used. The utilization of local farmers, as well as the reuse of what would have otherwise been waste, was greatly appreciated. The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and practices used.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Instant Family Favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

After many disappointments in the Dallas area, Whiskey Cake was an awesome surprise! My family had 2 burgers, 2 craft beers, 2 kids meals for <$50. The burgers were amazingly fresh and juicy. The kids macaroni and cheese was high quality. Our server (Morgan?) was pleasant, attentive and professional. We will definitely return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Makenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whiskey Cake also viewed

 

Been to Whiskey Cake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing