We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay, long on comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano)
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Plano
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and left early so we didn't get to try the breakfast. The check in was quick, the clerk was friendly and the room was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CometoTexasYall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 122 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

The decor was pretty cool. Definitely something different than a standard hotel. We stayed 2 nights and housekeeping never left any towels for us. The breakfast in the morning was the worst. It was over at 10, but expect everything to be gone around 9:30.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanieT665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano), responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Janie T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased that you liked our hotel decor. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is my regret that we fail to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pretty nice hotel,very clean. Extremely friendly staff. The decor of the hotel is a strange combination of art dec and 1920s movie studio. And while decor is not one of my strengths, it was indeed noticeable. Breakfast was standard for HIEx and the coffee was a bit substandard, but I do tend to be picky about coffee. If you must be in Plano, this is a good plce to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank deacondawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3101_HIEPlano, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano), responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hello
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave comments about my hotel. We do have an eclectic décor that does get your attention and is not your standard Holiday Inn Express. As a coffee snob myself I get what you are saying and have followed up with my coffee provider about how we are brewing. Hopefully you will notice a difference on you next stay.
Your time is appreciated
CDennis
gm@hiplano.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights while my husband was in Plano for work. The hotel is very quite and comfy. The rooms are spacious and decor is very tasteful. The room has a large desk, sitting chair with lamp, the king bed had 2 reading lights as wells as lamps on both side tables. The TV was awesome and there was planty of drawer and bathroom storage space. Very comfortable for 2 people. The service was very nice and not bothersome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBloomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I had been on the road for four nights, I hadn't gotten sleep in five (stressing about packing up our apartment and driving across country). This hotel was so comfy and quiet, I got my first full night's sleep of the trip.

I'd stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, but it was nothing compared to this particular location. It was so fancy and new. The lobby is done in this simultaneously retro and modern design that is so awesome. They had the craziest lamps I've ever seen on the hallway walls. The dining room/meeting room was really lovely and well kept. Our room was very spacious and pristine, though they have this funny obsession with reading lamps. They were coming out of the headboard, even out of some of the lamps. It was a great amenity, especially if you have a family (my family always keeps me up with their lights when we're sharing a hotel room) but it was kind of funny... I wanted to ask the lamp "... is that a reading light, or are you just happy to see me?"

Breakfast was good, the same as you get at any Holiday Inn Express. Good variety, not all starch. We got down half an hour before the end of breakfast and grabbed the last two cinnamon rolls, then they turned off the warmer. I don't know... is half an hour too early to put out a new tray of rolls? Maybe. We were just glad that we'd gotten some.

I visited the little store they have to search for toothpaste. We'd accidentally left our toothpaste and tooth brushes in our old apartment in Boston, and finally got some toothpaste in Nashville (Our 3rd night! We were using Scope, but still...) but then we left it in New Orleans!! I was desperate for toothpaste, but I didn't see any. But the magical woman at the desk GAVE ME SOME for FREE and I almost kissed her. But I didn't. Because I hadn't brushed my teeth in what seemed like forever. She was an angel from abooooooooooooove!!! SHE WAS THE TOOTH FAIRY.

You could tell this was a place for businessmen. It was blissfully quiet at night, and very sleek and clean. I felt really nice when I left. For the price, it was a steal in quality and comfort, and all the workers we met were friendly and helpful. If you have complaints here, you haven't experienced the surprises of other hotels on the road. A big thumb's up from me, and a beautiful clean smile as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedancingoboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My rating on this one is 3.8, by far the best in my series of reviews on Holiday Inn Express.

It just happened that I visited three HIE hotels recently (this one I did not stay but I hosted an international meeting for about 25-35 participants there and I did check on its rooms and facilities. The room quality is consistent with similar amenity (I think the tooth brushes are not in the room but you can get it from the front desk, if you forget to pack it.), deco (basic, not fancy ones), this one with a refrigerator, but the room size are bigger than the previous two I reviewed in China (In Texas, everything is BIG!).

When I disclosed that we will have our June meeting in Holiday Inn Express in Plano, I got teased a lot by those veterans, who are used to have meetings in four-to-five star hotels. "Man! HIE? Not even a Holiday Inn?" However, I had a relative small group of people from all over the world coming to Texas, and I wanted to provide them a good meeting experience without costing an arm and a leg. I looked around and found hosting a meeting in a four-star or five-star hotels actually cost a lot. Typical charges including meeting room usage (can sometimes be waived if you have booked a big room-block guaranteed), charges for projector and screen use, coffee and cookies (for coffee breaks), audio systems (if used), and maybe service charges can add up to your overall cost quickly. This may not be a problem if you have corporate sponsorship. For us, the model is shared cost and I found these charges will add to the complexity on the travel expenses of the meeting attendees.

The Management in HIE in Plano help me solve the problems. The hotel offered us a good block rate and agreed to waive meeting room setup charges if the room nights requirement are filled. They can do coffee breaks and are flexible in arrangements. The front desk people and the Management are always available in case any problems occurred. We supplied projectors and the hotel can offer screens. Two individual meeting rooms each can host seating comfortably for about 25 people in "open-U" setting and more if we use "classroom" setting. There is also a Ballroom (yes, a Ballroom in HIE, which is a first to me) can accommodate about 200 people and can be divided into two 100 people rooms.

The best part, to me, is that the Management and the support from the staff. Their efforts did help our meeting ran well.

We did experience some difficulty on Internet, but the Management indicated that they are upgrading their systems that week and promised it would get better. They also get their local contractors to work with us to improve the condition after we reported problems. Maybe some viewers can help check it out. To be fair, I have to say our group, although not big, does hog the Internet with all the gears we used, and the Management team of the hotel may have not dealt such a big group of "geeks" before.

Hot breakfast, even with pancakes, is included. The breakfast area is nice and clean and make the foyer area looks nice. Now I think about it, it is better than a "typical HIE" feeling.

The hotel is located by the US 75 but you need to turn into a side street before you can access to it. Plenty of parking. There are also a dinner, a cafeteria, and a Chinese buffet near by. Although there are many nice restaurants in Plano area, it is recommended that you have a car, as walking in the 100 degrees weather as we had in June can be brutal. Moreover, it may not be dangerous to walk due to the traffic condition. Hotel staff can help you arrange taxis if you don't intend to drive.

After the week-long meeting, other than the complaints about Internet, I think most of the participants are happy with the value they received. Indeed, I'd never consider hosting an international meeting in HIE, if I had not stopped by and checked it out myself.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with family members for one night while a loved one had surgery at a nearby medical center. Several things made this hotel stand out. First we where given a decent rate because we where there visiting the nearby hospital. Second the hotel had an elevator which made transporting our bulky and heavy stuff to the second floor a breaze. Third the decore has been recently updated and the place looked nice, as did my room. Fourth, the business center had working computers and a printer stocked with paper which made last minute items easy to print out. The internet worked well there too. Last, good cable TV. Yes I like to watch TV and had many channels to choose from. Two thumbs up for this place, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Any room works well at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dallas/Plano
2.0 mi away
aloft Plano
aloft Plano
#16 of 46 in Plano
288 reviews
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Plano-Frisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Plano Legacy Frisco
2.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Dallas Plano West
2.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Plano - Frisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano)

Address: 3101 Dallas Pkwy, Plano, TX 75093-4714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Plano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 46 Hotels in Plano
Price Range: $96 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently the winner of the 2010 IHG Renovation Award, Holiday Inn Express and Suites N. Plano is pleased to offer guests a hotel that has undergone a $1 million dollar renovation and has updated its team with a renowned group of individuals that prides themselves in service, guest appreciation and above all, building relationships. With exceptional attention to detail in every room, in every amenity and in every conversation, you will feel like you are home at Holiday Inn Express & Suites N. Plano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Dallas North Tollway (N Plano) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express n. Plano Hotel Plano
Plano Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing