We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, even worth the wait.”
Review of Coal Vines

Coal Vines
Reserve with OpenTable
Coal Vines is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #306 of 899 Restaurants in Plano
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Plano, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Good pizza, even worth the wait.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Trying to get an early dinner in with the kids proved more complicated than anticipated when we learned that the pizza oven needed a RE-start. No, actually TWO re-starts! But the pizza did arrive after repeated apologies and was worth the wait. They comped one of the pizzas for our inconvenience and were very nice.
We will come back. It is not always possible for things to work as they should, but good service is about helping you feel attended to and conveying a spirit of caring.
This is a nice place to go for great thin crust pizza!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amtraveler1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    9
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY THIN PIE!!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Oh goodness did we find a gem!!! We have been searching for a great thin pizza closer to home and we finally found it!!! The service is wonderful, the atmosphere is terrific and the pizza is spectacular!! I do wish they had a few more wines on their list but that will not stop us from returning. The pizzas are ENORMOUS and the price is beyond reasonable!!!

We have absolutely no complaints about this place!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Winner”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I love Coal Vines in Legacy. Wide selections of wines by the glass & bottle wine. Excellent NY Style Pizza. Nice appetizers, salads & seafood. Service is fast, knowledgeable and effecient. We asked some particular questions about a wine, the server didn't have the answers so she went, got the bottle, read the label and came back with answers. Impressive. Pizzas are great. The large is big enough to take some home....i like that! Try the White Pizza. Great atmosphere and patio. A winner!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnmac541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Two Thumbs Up Pizza and Pasta”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Went for my birthday dinner with family and we all gave Coal Vines two thumbs up!! Very warm and cozy atmosphere to enjoy excellent tasty pizza. We tried the white pizza with sausage and could not stop eating! Large pizza is HUGE! Also, shared the special pasta of the day with all of our favorite ingredients. Kids loved their cheese pizza and garlic bread. Our waiter was very attentive and served on time. We will be back!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EscapetheHeat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great NY pizza”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

I found my newest "go to" spot for good New York styles pizza. I grew up in New York and I'm on a never ending search for the perfect pizza. Coal Vines is about as close as I have found. Not perfect, put very close. The sauce is a tad too sweet for my liking, but I put extra parmesan and it works. Nice place to eat outdoors as they have misting fans on the patio. The service is good, not the most friendly wait staff but they are very competent. Have not had any of their other meals, but if your looking for good NY Pizza, give them a try.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dfwjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coal Vines also viewed

 

Been to Coal Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing