We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster Paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Urban Crust

Urban Crust
Ranked #3 of 865 Restaurants in Plano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hipster Paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

The crust on the pizza is delicious. The ingredients seem fresh, but the flavor just a tad bland. The server (Matt) was knowledgeable. He seemed happy to put in a special order for my picky eater child and made a lovely wine suggestion for me.
The renovated, old downtown, semi-industrial atmosphere and pseudo-upscale menu are hipster magnets. Look out for young urbanites with "ironic" mustaches, bohemian/vintage/thrift store outfits, and shaggy hair.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GenericUserID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    113
    26
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DALLAS
Level Contributor
169 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food, love location, service so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I love the location in Downtown Plano, it has a really cool feel. There are 3 stories, with a bar on the top level. I thought the food was pretty good, not great. In an era of specialty/gourmet pizza places they make a good effort but fall just short of the mark. We went on a Sunday, we were on the 2nd floor, & the service was just ok. Ive def had worse service but I wasn't over-impressed on this front.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rudyruru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW, TX
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This place is very popular, but I have yet to see why. They have unique pizza, but is just average in taste. Their caesar salad has tasty dressing, but is over priced for iceberg lettuce and shaved cheese.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BethKDfw_Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This restaurant is a must. Located in Downtown Plano, it is the only place I know of that has an actual "ice bar". Yes, your drinks are sitting atop a bar counter made of ice! The food is good and the joint is hopping on the weekends. Go early if you want to get a seat.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank texassicilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Always the best pizza in town..great service ,the ice bar is great.. happy hour with good snacks good service. Good crowd..Always come back there when in town

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Urban Crust also viewed

 

Been to Urban Crust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing