We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Great Place !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pittsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages
Ranked #1 of 3 Pittsburg B&B and Inns
Scottville
2 reviews
“What a Great Place !”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Each year we spend the month of February on the ranch. This year we had the opportunity to stay at the new Lakeside Cottage. It greatly exceeded our expectations with it's spacious living room and kitchen, comfortable beds and all of the facilities of home. It is set in a quiet country setting just steps from the lake full of hungry fish. Being outdoor people we enjoyed walking the scenic trails around the ranch. While touring the trails one can see flocks of bluebirds and cardinals, blue and white herons, deer, otter and beaver. Also on the working ranch are registered cattle, buffalo, miniature horses and a variety of animals to observe and pet. For a change of pace we often go to surrounding small towns for fine casual dining, inexpensive shopping, antiqueing and meeting some warm and welcoming folks. We have found that the real gems of the ranch are the owners Paula and Jim. They do everything to make ones stay comfortable and enjoyable. You might arrive as a stranger but will surely leave as friends. We would not even consider staying anywhere else when Lakeside Cottage has all of these features.

Bonnie and Ed Scottville, Michigan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Katy
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at Treehouse earlier this year and fell in love with the peace and quiet along with the beautiful countryside. Great romantic getaway. Wonderful place to rest and relax. The stars are so beautiful at night and we enjoyed going fishing during the day. Jim and Paula make you feel at home. The Treehouse was so cozy and we would spend our evenings and mornings out on the deck. We Enjoyed seeing so many different birds and the opportunity to hike on trails throughout the property.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Treehouse and it was perfect. They have several cottages and they all look quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We've stayed at both the Tree House and Pine Grove multiple times for rest away from the city and have always found them clean and ready upon our arrival. I would describe them as a trip to Grandmother's house - the traditional wooden floors, clean linens, quilts during the winter, tall pine trees, and blissfully quiet. The backyard views at both places are wonderful. Watching the farm animals is also neat. The conveniences of town are 20-30 minutes away, so we make a grocery run on the way. The hosts are always warmly hospitable and courteous.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottville
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We had the distinct pleasure of staying in the Treehouse. And who has not wanted to live in a Treehouse at least once in their life. The first thing that we noticed was the clean coziness with the big comfortable bed and all of the amenities. Next, we throughly enjoyed sitting on the overlooking deck surveying the beautiful surrounding. The things to do are limitless. We had pleasure in walking the nature trails, bird watching, hiking the back roads, catching hungry fish, seeing abundant wildlife, visiting wineries, dining in interesting resturants, and just soaking up nature while relaxing on the deck. Of course the greatest treasure is meeting and getting to know Jim and Paula. They did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. When we leave we not only have made great friends but feel as part of the family. Each year our stay has greatly exceeded our expectations . Who could ask for more than that ?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My husband and I needed some R & R and found this wonderful place in East Texas. We had a lovely time at Pine Grove Cottage. Jim and Paula are an amazing couple who make their guests feel like family. Pine Grove Cottage has a private lake at the back of the house where my husband spent most of his time catching bass. The goats, chickens, dog and pony were fun to feed. If you need to get away for a few days this is the place to be -- you get an awesome vacation with a personal touch. We have been to many cabins and cottages and this one is one of the best. We look forward to a tour of the Ranch on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Paula and Jim are two of the kindest and sweetest hosts one could ever imagine! Their beautiful property located in the piney woods of East Texas was so much more than we could have ever imagined. The three of us had the best weekend during our stay at Pine Grove Cottage; private lake, farm fresh eggs, beautiful and peaceful scenery, not to mention that most anything you may have forgotten while loading you vehicle to come and stay....Paula is sure to have it waiting for you! From pitchers, spices, flashlights, fishing tackle, etc. You name it and The Archers are sure to have already thought of it and have it ready and waiting for you. Our daughter,3, had so much fun with the EXTREMELY friendly pigmy goats and fishing out on the dock with dad! My wife spent her mornings sipping coffee and taking in all of the amazing wildlife, she even witnessed and Otter doing a little fishing of his own! The fish were as aggressive as I have ever seen, once you figure out what they're biting on you'd better hold on to your hat!!! Perfect 10 out 10 for the Property and Owners! We plan on making this a twice a year family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pittsburg
17.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Mount Pleasant
Candlewood Suites Mount Pleasant
#6 of 12 in Mount Pleasant
55 reviews
14.9 mi away
Thee Hubbell House Bed & Breakfast
11.7 mi away
Barefoot Bay Marina And Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages

Property: Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast/Pine Grove Cottages
Address: 12395 Fm 556, Pittsburg, TX 75686-6903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pittsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in the heart of east Texas. Oak Grove Manor offers first class accommodations on a beautiful East Texas acreage. Two large suites, each with private bath are located in the Manor house. A third large efficiency apartment (Treehouse) is located over the detached carriage house. All accommodations feature satellite TV and high speed Internet access. Breakfast is delivered to your suite in the main house at a time of your choosing. Innkeepers will stock your refrigerator or provide fresh farm eggs for a fee for guests at Treehouse. Oak Grove Manor is a wonderful retreat for the weary traveler or for the couple seeking a romantic getaway in the East Texas countryside. Located equidistant to Winnsboro, Gilmer, Quitman and Pittsburg, this property is in close proximity to the best East Texas has to offer. Hiking trails, birdwatching and canoeing are available on the acreage at no additional cost. Fully stocked private lakes throughout the property offer fishing opportunities for both new and seasoned fishermen. Florida bass are a special treat at Oak Grove Lake with the record being a 12 lb bass. Two fully equipped guest houses offer an alternative lodging experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing