We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State Park Peace and Quiet”

Ray Roberts Lake State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park great for camping, hiking, swimming and fishing.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“State Park Peace and Quiet”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very nice park both Johnson Creek and Isle of Dubois. Johnson Creek is more peaceful and quiet, it is on the north side of the lake and a bit more remote.

Helpful?
5 Thank HappyTxCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    41
    10
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tyler, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Orderly camping and outdoor fun!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The entire park is very nice. Definitely rustic and made for having fun in the outdoors. I have camped in the basic campgrounds and the very rustic (no water, no electricity, no designated are for tent). Both were good for what they are designed for.

Plenty of trails, fun area to take the family swimming and good for a group outdoor get together (party, family reunion, etc.).

Helpful?
4 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice Park & trails”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The lake is very pretty & there are several trails on the lake side of the park. Some trails are paved & some are sandy. The trails we went on were the sandy one's & they were shady most of the way. The trails are well taken care of & marked.

The opposite side of the lake is the dam area & I believe the park is called Elm Fork. We liked this trail the best. It's the Greenbelt Corridor & goes from Ray Roberts Lake to Lake Lewisville if you go all the way I believe it's 11 miles one way. The trail is gravel & shady as far as we went, we didn't go all the way. Very peaceful. We saw a armadillo in woods by the trail.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 1natureseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OK
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Park & Nice Lake”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We tent camped in the Willow Cove area of the Johnson Branch of this Park over Fall break 2012. We loved it and found the park, trails, and facilities to be very good. We were in an area of 'primitive camp sites' with no electricity or water. There were community water spigots placed throughout the area for the campers' use. Some of the campsites are a good walk (up to a quarter mile) from the parking area and we are not used to this. For this reason, we chose campsite 163 which is the closest to the Willow Cove parking area. This is a great campsite, secluded just enough to be private, with water very close by, plus the bonus of having your vehicle within a few steps of the campsite. This branch of the park has a great beach area for swimming and a soft sand volleyball area. We played volleyball while we watched wind surfers surf in the steady winds from the lake. The area has many great bike trails which are all mostly concrete improved. This branch of the park is ideal for families with kids who want to bike, swim, or fish. We highly recommend this branch of the park for day use or campin!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Happy4travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunset Heaven”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Fabulous place to watch the sunset and cool off in the summer. It feels like you've left the city far behind.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaye222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray Roberts Lake State Park also viewed

 

Been to Ray Roberts Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing