We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Value Place in Pharr TX”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Value Place McAllen Pharr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We made a reservation for a No Smoking room a week ahead of time at Value Place in Pharr, TX. When we arrived they did not have our room ready and informed us that we would be on the Smoking floor. After a stressful time arguing with the girl we finally got a No Smoking room. I noticed on my bill that there were two $9.95 charges for cleaning the room. They clean the room every two weeks on Wednesday. We checked in late Tuesday afternoon so I said we will not be in the room 24 hours yet and do not need the room cleaned the next day and also we are scheduled to check out Tuesday the day before the next Wednesday cleaning so why charge me cleaning charges when I will not even be in the room. We noticed after a few days that our refrigerator was not cooling properly. Went to the desk to inform them of this and were told it would be fixed. Three days later the refrigerator was still not fixed and all our food was spoiled by that time. Manager Dave's remark to us, when we inquired about replacing our food was "We are giving you such a good deal on the room price that we can not do that." In the two weeks that we were at Value Place we were awakened one night in the middle of the night with the fire alarms going off and a few days later we once again experienced the fire alarm thrill. A very scary experience. After we checked out of our room which we left in excellent condition I inquired about our $100 deposit. I was informed that Manager Dave had kept $42 of my deposit as there was a stain on the bed sheet. I contacted Value Place to dispute this charge and I received an email from Manger Dave offering me his sincere apology and no mention about returning the rest of my deposit. I contacted the Better Business Bureau of Texas and registered a complaint about Value Place but also got nowhere. Finally I went to my credit card company and registered a complaint about Value Place and the credit card company credited my credit card the $42 that was unjustly held by Value Place. Please be very careful about considering Value Place in Pharr Texas, check your bill very carefully for overcharges, and good luck with having your $100 security deposit returned to you. The McAllen area was very nice and outside of our motel experience we enjoyed our vacationing there. We will return again in the future but know we will not be considering Value Place in Pharr Texas for our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albert S, Manager at Value Place McAllen Pharr, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for taking time to tell us about your experiences at our property. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Value Place, we strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying. Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart, and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issue promptly.

Sincerely,

Albert Silva
Area Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 68 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a reservation for a NS single for a week. arrived and they had me assigned to a 2-bed Smoking room with no linens. Asked why they didn't let me know in advance before I got there and said sorry- No Room, No Apologies, No-make good attempt, No-alternatives offered - nothing. Never staying here ever and certainly wont recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank FrustratedSEP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here for 4 weeks almost and I enjoyed it, I stayed to myself and didn't have any issues! Only complaint is they don't honor the prices on the sign outdoors, or they'll say theres no rooms when clearly it is! other than that I'd stay here over and over again!

Room Tip: Be sure to quote the price on the sign or they'll charge you full price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I live elsewhere but work in McAllen for 6-7 months in a year. Sure, Value Place buildings are nothing to write about. Room floors, for example, are not sound-proofed and the noise can be very aggravating if you stay on the lower floors. Nevertheless, I find Value Place to be a cheap and temporary place to stay. The problem is getting the staff at this particular Value Place to fix broken fixtures on time. The lady manager is a nice and friendly person, but either she doesn't have the district management's support or she is not a good manager herself. Her staff are often very rude and unprofessional--it is like they are doing you a favor. SImply stated, this Value Place is mismanaged.

Room Tip: Unless you can get a room on the fourth floor, be prepared for noise from heavy walkers in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank omoolumo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I made a seven day reservation 6 months ahead of time and 36 hours before we left home to go on our trip they called and told us they would not have a room for us when we arrived. Obviously they had decided someone else was more important and just dumped us. No apologies, no attempt to help to make alternate arrnagements, no compensation, nothing. The worst hotel situation I have ever encountered and we travel a lot.

Room Tip: Never make a reservation here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNtraveler10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather L, Value Place Property Management at Value Place McAllen Pharr, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

Unfortunately in our line of business there are times when we are not able to honor all reservations because our guests don't always know when they will check out. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused and especially that you feel you were mistreated. Value Place always tries to take care of our guests and in this case we did not do our best. We believe in continuous improvement will continue to strive to provide our guests' with the best possible experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Had confirmed reservation, showed up, was told no room. Was told to come back the next day, did that, waited 25 minutes, no staff at the desk, again no room despite confirmed reservation. The first day I was promised that I would get 50$ discount towards a room at another hotel, next day manager flatly denied that anyone had said that. Manager stated that it is policy that all guests can extend without reservations for as long as they want, and outside reservations are not binding and he does not care whether anyone has a reservation or not!
This is actually directly the opposite of what the policy on their website states. Manager called me stupid in front of other guests for not understanding his fake policy. Then threatened to call the police when I retaliated with similar language.
Definitely the worst hotel experience of my life. Buyer beware!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Service
3  Thank budgettraveler061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

After over 25 years spending over 200 days a year in hotels, this place is the most unfriendly and poorly operated place I have ever been. The total lack of any skilled people at the front desk was the first issue. This is a striped hotel and it is no good for anybody but maybe sec. 8 welfare homeless people. My room was 326, nice view of the back of hotel that had some kind of junk yard and old trucks storage. No wi fi only cabel connection to a internet that is a little more or less dial up service and there is a 10.00 charge. The noise level at this place was very bad. On my floor alone I could here many fights and young children running around unsupervised late into the night in the hall way. Calls to the front desk where not returned. Customers be mindful of hidden charges. To sum things up the staff was by far a little more than a joke. Staff members were very rude and offensive. Make sure you get what you ask for. If you request a smoking room and they give you a non-smoking room with an ash tray in the room. watch out because there are no signs telling anybody anything. This hotel conducts room inspections on Sundays??? This was conducted by staff that looked like a hit man. Beware of this hotel. I have been to many hotels, this one is terrible, and I am very unhappy with the treatment. I do not see Value Place as a safe place to stay. For sure it is miss managed and I see no value in savings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HoustonGrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pharr
1.7 mi away
Texas Inn & Suites
Texas Inn & Suites
#9 of 12 in Pharr
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Pharr
65 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Pharr
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#28 of 41 in McAllen
99 reviews
4.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton McAllen Convention Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Place McAllen Pharr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Place McAllen Pharr

Address: 1207 W. Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pharr
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Pharr
Price Range: $33 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Place McAllen Pharr 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Place McAllen Pharr is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Wi-Fi for purchase, access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. Courtesy phone in the lobby or guest room for 24/7 guest support (including check-in) from our friendly staff. Extended stay hotels are different in amenities from traditional hotels. Call to learn more. Pet-friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Value Place McAllen Pharr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Pharr Hotel Pharr

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing