We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite in McAllen Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“My new favorite in McAllen Area”
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I travel to Mc Allen / Brownsville one to two times per month. I hav been staying at the Hilton Garden Inn, but due to the promotions for points at the Priority Club brands, I have moved my business. I like this location enough that I will continue to stay here. I was here for three nights on business.

Overall this Holiday Inn Express is at the top of its game. Breakfast and lobby area are nicer than most, staff is always attentive, breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express (eggs, biscuts, bacon, omlettes, hard boiled eggs, yougard, breads, pasteries, juice, coffee.) The rooms are always nice, crisp, and clean. The workout room is acceptable, though nothing special.

They have a small evening reception week days, with popcorn, pretzles, wine, beer, and lemonade / tea.

The location is a centeral easy drive to most business activities in Mc Allenand is located in a small trucking / retail area. If you have a car, there is dining nearby, though without a car there is not much in walking distance other than the a BBQ joint and fast food. Lots of dining choices 2 miles west on 83.

The outdoor pool is average, (but looks out on a truck yard) and they do have a real business center, though they ran out of toner on the two printers while I was there.

The rooms are quiet, dark, and well appointed.

For its location in Pharr, I will stay here again.

  • Liked — Nice Rooms
  • Disliked — Printers out of toner
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
2
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2007

The HIE in Pharr is clean and conviently located. I stay there on all of my business trips to McAllen/Pharr/Edinburg area.

  • Liked — The clean rooms and internet access.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

I stayed at the HIE in Pharr in late May and was really happy to have found this hotel. I travel to the McAllen area once a month and have tried several hotels in the area and the Holiday Inn Express in Pharr was great--the best I've found for a business trip. The room was comfortable. The staff was helpful. The evening snack was welcome after a long hot day. Breakfast the next morning was ready when advertised and plentiful. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2005

My family including my in-laws just stayed 2 nights at the HIE in Pharr, TX. The hotel is located just off of a main highway and is close to McAllen, TX and the border town of Reynosa, Mexico. All of us enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely stay there again and look forward to doing so next year when we go back for a family wedding. The hotel is small but very modern and very clean. The staff does a great job about keeping the place up and making sure that you are comfortable. There is a pool which we did not check out (too cold) and there is a complimentary breakfast for every guest. Parking is free and is not coverd but it is secured (actual, live security guard) so that made us feel very safe especially with leaving our brand new vehicle outside of the hotel. The linens were fresh and so was the smell of our room. Breakfast is nice. It's different every day and if you dont want that, there are restaurants including a Burger King and a Rudy's BarBQ (best corn in the world !) place that are walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone with family or just as a quick get away with the spouse!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank txact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pharr
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pharr
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel McAllen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pharr - Rio Grande Valley
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Pharr- Hwy 281
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Edinburg Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr
Address: 205 W Nolana Loop, Pharr, TX 78577-8347
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Pharr
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beautiful, Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pharr is located on US Hwy 281, close to all Pharr and McAllen businesses and attractions, including shopping the border with Mexico and is minutes from both the McAllen and Harlingen Airports. Awake every morning to the great taste of our upgraded 'Smart Start' breakfast offering cheese omelets, bacon or biscuits and sausage gravy, fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, danishes and more! We are adjacent to Rudy's Bar-B-Q & Country Store, Country Pancake House (24-hour restaurant), Burger King and McDonald's. The hotel is located within minutes of the San Juan Shrine, Pharr Convention Center, McAllen Convention Center, Edinburg Regional Hospital, McAllen Regional Hospital, UT Pan-Am University, Birding and Wildlife Center in Bentsen State Park.. The hotel is within 5 miles of excellent shopping at the La Plaza Mall and 20 minutes from The Rio Grande Valley Premium Outlet Mall. Relax after a long day around our beautiful outdoor pool and hot-tub, either under the blue skies of South Texas or in our covered gazebo. Our facility may tempt you to stay with us, but the customer service you receive from our staff will keep you coming back time and time again. We will do what it takes to become your preferred hotel of choice in the Rio Grande Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites -- Pharr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites -- Pharr
Holiday Inn Pharr
Pharr Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing