We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charged More to Make a Reservation”
Review of Texas Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Texas Inn & Suites
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I've stayed here a couple of times before without any problems. When I called from San Antonio to make a reservation, the clerk told me I had given too many numbers for my credit card. When I showed up, I was told the charge would be $6 higher than the walk-in rate posted on the sign outside. My request for a non-smoking room got me a room with cigarette burns every inch around the edge of the bedside tables. When asked if rates had gone up, I got the run around from the same receptionist who had taken my reservation. She told me I had paid $43 in Sep when, in fact, I had paid $34 and took out the receipt to prove it. She then proceeded to tell me I was "disrespecting"
her. Clerks with attitude just make my day after a 900 mile drive! The owner didn't have the guts to talk with me about any of this. I left the next day and will dispute the additional charge with my credit card company as well as making a complaint to the chain's national headquarters.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
1  Thank hermit8547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABVI1357, Manager at Texas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

I am very sorry to hear that you had this issue while staying at the Hotel, I take all guest comment to hart, and have talked with My staff to make sure that this will never happen again. I hope that you consider staying with us again.

Thank You
Krris Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 23 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

When we traveled to the Rio Grande Valley to visit our family on the 4th of July weekend we arrived at the Inn a little early, before the regular check inn time. The employee that helped us was very courteous and friendly. Even though, we arrived a little early, he went and made arrangements so we can check into the room. The room was very clean and all the amenities of necessity were readily available. We stayed for 3 nights and the kids enjoyed the outdoor pool which was clean and well kept. The outside appearance of the hotel was pleasant and the employees were very friendly. They serve a basic continental breakfast with waffles which we got tired of after the 2nd day. The beds were a little firm but we got used to it. If we ever travel to the Rio Grande Valley we would definitely give this hotel a consideration. The hotel is a very budget friendly hotel and the service offered surpasses the price you pay for the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mglsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

I do not recommend this Hotel at all, it was a very uncomfortable stay, the room was not very well cleaned, it had small pieces of trash on the floor of food wrappings from the previous guests, the shower had no hot water, the bathroom floor was sticky, the room had a strong humidity smell because the AC was driping and was wetting the carpet. The bed comforter was very old and ragged. The TV had no remote. So as you can see theres not much to rescue about this experience, oh and I forgot to say that it took forever for the front desk to get me a room even tough I had a reservation.
Dont go to this place, they have low prices but as you can see they offer nothing. I booked this place on Hotwire and thought I was getting the lowest price, but when I got there I saw that the Hotel had lower prices than HW.
This will be a choice only if you are on a very low budget and need a place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 604,847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
Thank Rodolfo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosepatel, Manager at Texas Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled with family
Thank Vanne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank EduardoMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pharr
4.9 mi away
Texas Inn and Suites Rio Grande Valley
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 12 in Pharr
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 12 in Pharr
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Motel 6 Pharr
Motel 6 Pharr
#9 of 12 in Pharr
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Pharr - McAllen
1.7 mi away
Value Place McAllen Pharr
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Texas Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texas Inn & Suites

Address: 1130 East Expressway 83, Pharr, TX 78577 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - McAllen / Pharr)
Location: United States > Texas > Pharr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Pharr
Price Range: $50 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Texas Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Texas Inn & Suites is located in the beautiful Rio Grande Valley city of Pharr, Texas, just 1 mile from the city of McAllen. Our charming facility offers spacious guest rooms and suites. All suites are equipped with sofa, some with jacuzzi. We also offer ADA compliant guest rooms. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure our facility is conveniently located close to restaurants, businesses, and local landmarks. We are less than a mile away from Basilica of Our Lady of San Juan Del Valle-National Shrine. The McAllen Miller Airport is only five miles away. Tourists and day trippers will find dozens of interesting attractions. Shopping and dining in Mexico are less than five minutes away. Beach goers will enjoy the crystal blue ocean and the warm glistening sand of South Padre Island, only an hour and a half drive away. We serve a complimentary continental breakfast each morning. All guest rooms, suites and ADA compliant rooms are furnished with wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, cable TV, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, complimentary local calls, international direct calls, and wake-up service. Our lobby and front desk are open 24 hours. Fax and copy service is available at the front desk. Relax in our outdoor pool. A fresh breeze is blowing through the Rio Grande Valley, bringing with it infinite opportunities. Come and stay at our facility, you are bound to find what you are looking for at the Texas Inn & Suites in Pharr, Texas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Texas Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing