We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taste of Ethiopia

Taste of Ethiopia
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Pflugerville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Owner's name is Woinee Mariam. Great owner and great restaurant!
Burnet
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe I have not left this review before now. We go here for lots of special occassions. It is a nice, quiet, out of the way spot. Great for anniversarys because you eat with your fingers and can feed each other as you stare deeply into each others eyes. Our family likes it too! We enjoy talking with owner and employees, who are mostly family. The food is Incredible. We love all the flavors. It is slightly spicy but does not leave you burning. We eat mostly vegetarian and they have a platter that is for 2 we love. It is full of lentils, split peas, eggplant, collards, etc. If you eat vegan, they will leave out butter and feta. They have lamb, goat, beef, and chicken for the meat eaters. They have a flat bread made with Teff flour that leaves you craving more. Do not miss the vegetarian lunch buffet. Even if you are a meat eater, you will enjoy it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank smoothiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Family owned restaurant with great food and service. Much better than I expected and will definitely be going back. If you don't know what to order, we didn't, just ask. The waitress was very helpful in helping us decide on what to order. And the owner, herself came by to talk to us. A really great experience. Hard to find great, well run restaurants these days.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wantabefoodcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The unfortunate side effect is that you'll crave it later”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I worked with an Ethiopian woman who said other than her kitchen, the best and most authentic Ethiopian food was at Taste of Ethiopia in Pflugerville. Sadly, I live in San Antonio which means that under the best of circumstances we'd be driving an hour and a half. That said, I was so excited to realize that I was going to a concert at the new Cedar Park Center - a 15 minute drive from the restaurant.

We had our two vegan neighbors and my meat-loving husband. The neighbors weren't especially familiar with Ethiopian but my husband and I lived in DC and miss the food a lot. We ordered the vegetarian combo and it was phenomenal: eggplant in a spicy sauce, yellow split peas, a cabbage/potato in tumeric mixture, green beans, lentils, a small salad and the best collard greens I've ever eaten in my life. We were in veggie heaven.

The owner is fabulous. When my husband asked her about the meat dishes, she brought him a small sample. Wow- it was so flavorful- it's the Ethiopian spice that tastes like cardamum and cinnamon and something else. Delish.

One neighbor had the spiced tea and she said it was very good- it was a chilly night. I had a glass of wine which was fine and the men stuck with beer.

We ate in the patio area- it's big enough that it looks like it could hold a number of people. The inside of the restaurant is rather small. They do take-out as the gentleman in front of us when we arrived was leaving with a number of bags in his hand (and a big grin!)


All in all, it was a fabulous meal. We told the owner to PLEASE come to San Antonio and set up shop. I hope she does because in the meantime, I'm going to have to find reasons to get to the north side of Austin.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great Find in Pflugerville, Texas.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

An unexpected find in Pflugerville, Texas. We were pleasantly surprised by this international find in Texas barbeque country. We went for the lunch buffet and tried everything on the table. Nothing disappointed! The fried cauliflower was perfection, eggplant dish was sublime, and the post lunch coffee was presented in an authentic Ethiopian fashion. We're looking forward to our second visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcw0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always feel welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I love going to Taste of Ethiopia, it has officially become my family's go to Ethiopian restaurant when we aren't cooking ethiopian food at home, Ms. Woenie and her family as well as staff are always inviting and caring, great service as well as great food!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeSpirit512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Ethiopia also viewed

 
 

Been to Taste of Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing