We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm reception and delicious food”
Review of Taste of Ethiopia

Taste of Ethiopia
Ranked #2 of 117 Restaurants in Pflugerville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Description: Owner's name is Woinee Mariam. Great owner and great restaurant!
Restaurant details
Description: Owner's name is Woinee Mariam. Great owner and great restaurant!
Keller, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Warm reception and delicious food”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This restaurant is a gem. We had dinner here with our two small children. I couldn't tell you the names of what we ordered because we went on recommendations of the staff. The appetizer was like a cross between an empanada and a samosa and was DELICIOUS. I had their house iced tea based on our waiter's recommendation and it was fantastic. The main courses were served family style, we had a beef dish and a lamb dish served with sides of red lentils, fresh cottage cheese, cabbage, spinach and tomatoes. I had a hard time with the rip and dip concept of eating where you don't use utensils, but a special type of flat bread to pick up your food, but the food was good regardless. My kids both had excellent hamburgers which the waiter expedited because our kids were hungry and antsy they also enjoyed the bread and vegetables that came with our meal. The owner visited all the tables and chatted. My kids found her african style outfit enchanting. When we left, she asked my three year old son if he enjoyed his food and he told her "it was the best meal I ever had" and I'm pretty sure he meant it. We will be back for sure next time we're in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuideVerte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I have eaten here on many occasions, and I am always delighted by the wonderful textures, colors, aromas, variety. and seasonings. This is a gastronomic experience. I am a lacto-ovo vegetarian, and the entire buffet with the exception of one item is all vegetarian. With advance notice, they've also prepare vegan and gluten-free for me. Friendly, family-run operation. Ask to sit in their sun room--it's quiet and perfect for business lunches.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank undinabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentically delicious”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Great interior with fantastic owners as the staff most the time. I believe their food is even better than Esther's on 1-35. And their lunch buffet for under $10 is worth it - especially if you've never had Ethiopian and you want to try the different dishes.

Helpful?
Thank pamela757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Recommended by a friend, and worth the detour”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

A friend recommended this place, and I'm glad I took the recommendation. The food and service were both very good. I stopped for the mid-day buffet, most everyone else there were clearly regulars, that's a sign of a good and consistent experience. I'll be back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Must Try”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This place is worth taking a trip. The food is excellent, and if you are not familiar with Ethiopian food or customs, not to worry, the owner is friendly and helpful. Great experience and ambiance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R0llinSt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of Ethiopia also viewed

 

Been to Taste of Ethiopia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing