We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here a few times, always a pleasure...”
Review of Killen's Steakhouse - MOVED

Killen's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 518
Friendswood, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Been here a few times, always a pleasure...”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Since finding out about Killen's a few years ago from a friend, we've been there maybe 4 times... it's an infrequent pleasure. But every time we've gone the meal has been superlative. The steaks are cooked to perfection, the side dishes are just as good (crab cakes are wonderful, creamed corn is amazing!!), and the desserts are delicious (crème brulee, Carrot Cake, Bread pudding, etc.). Make sure you have a reservation.

Ronnie has done a fantastic job with this place, and has now branched out into BBQ with his new location down the street. Been there too, and it's going to be as famous as his steakhouse in no time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FJR05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    45
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Way Overpriced”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

It took them close to an hour to seat us even though we had a reservation. It took another hour before they started bringing us our meals staggered by 10 minutes apart. By that time we had lost our appetite. Our $10 baked potatoes were ice cold and hard in the middle. Because it's a small restaurant it was cramped & very loud. The only thing that was impressive was the check, over $300 for 4 people. Next time we will drive the extra 30 minutes for a 5 star restaurant in Houston.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We joined another couple and our kids for dinner recently. It's a bit of a drive and not much to look at from the outside but the inside ambiance is nice. The wait staff was attentive. We took our time ordering and never felt rushed. The menu is varied and interesting with its many styles of steak. We shared a sampler of appetizers - crab cake, bacon wrapped scallops and fried asparagus. The crab cake was one of the best I've ever had - talk about jumbo lump. I had the bacon wrapped filet with shrimp. The filet was cooked perfectly. The shrimp were a bit uninteresting. Sides of creamed corn, creamed spinach, and potatoes au gratin were shared. The corn was excellent with a bit of kick. We shared the carrot cake and the creme brulee bread pudding. The carrot cake was outstanding and large enough to share between at least 4 people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had the wood fired, Grass Fed, Rib Eye from Pittsburg Texas and it was most likely the best steak I have ever eaten. The Crabcake and Creme Brulee Bread Pudding were to die for.

I have had steaks at Gordon Ramsey, Delmonico, Ruth's Chris and many more but this one beat them all.

If you haven't eaten at Killen's, I feel sorry for you.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vice43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NY Strip med rare, Mint IPA, Go get some”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Wonderful dinner here last night. Crab cake, NY Strip and mushrooms, and Houston brewed No Label Mint IPA, much recommended for those who like something cold and hoppy! Service was great and professional (Thanks David!). The Mishima steak was one of the best I ever had. Great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killen's Steakhouse also viewed

Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing