We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak Bar None”
Review of Killen's Steakhouse - MOVED

Killen's Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: FM 518
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Steak Bar None”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The best steak in Houston. Our family has been dining at Killen's since it opened and we are looking forward to trying Ronnie's new barbecue restauraunt too. The wait staff is exceptional.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MAXnANGEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    44
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, but not exceptional ~”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited Killen’s Steakhouse last night and it was okay; not bad at all, but not outstanding. I certainly don’t get all the rave reviews. We started with the crab cakes (very good) and French Onion soup (okay), followed by the Caesar salad and pork and black-eyed gumbo (both just okay). For dinner, we had the 16 oz. rib eye (cooked well, but flavorless), bacon wrapped scallops (presented well, but nothing outstanding), and the au gratin potatoes and mac-n-cheese (acceptable, but tasted like Stouffers.) We certainly don’t mind paying for outstanding food, but we thought that the $181.00 price tag (including tip, one Cosmo, and two glasses of wine) and the 40-minute drive from Houston wasn’t worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to celebrate!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

So, don't judge this restaurant by its "curb appeal.". I thought we had arrived at a saloon. One of the signs for me of impeccable service is when they change out napkins based on the color of pants/skirt that the diner has on. I hate leaving with white lint all over my black dress. But that was just the beginning of a fantastic dinner celebrating my mom's birthday. The appetizer was a great way to begin, the steaks were PERFECT, (along with the sides), and the creme brûlée bread pudding was a perfect ending!

I highly suggest Killens for a spectacular culinary experience. I can't wait to visit again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Still awesome. Sorry we missed Ronnie, but DD's school of wine was a hoot. Dragon's Breath (or whatever it was called) dessert was fabulous. One of my favorite places to eat in the world.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Our new Favorite!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

"Wow, wow, wow", is still all I can say, after eating there 4 days ago. We are regulars, at a different Houston steakhouse, and we thought that was the best.....until stepping foot into this delightful restaurant. The service, from the Hostesses to the Manager, were all so professional and knowledgeable. The food is beyond amazing. My taste buds are still craving more. I recommend the Crab cakes for an appetizer, and the fried asparagus as a side with your entree. I had an aged Rib-eye, and it beats steaks I have had a 5 Star restaurants. It is very clean, and the atmosphere is quaint & romantic. I strongly recommend visiting Killen's, you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StinForeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Killen's Steakhouse also viewed

Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing