We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pacifico is my favorite.”

Gringos Mexican Cafe
Ranked #1 of 229 Restaurants in Pearland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
219 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The Pacifico is my favorite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Red & green salsas with chips greet you as you're seated, which is always a plus. The menu is extensive, but The Pacifico plate is my favorite - jalapeno & cheese stuffed shrimp, wrapped in bacon and grilled. It comes with rice & beans, as well as a small serving of pico de gallo. My husband usually gets a mixed platter with enchiladas, a taco, etc. Margaritas and mixed drinks are big, but also expensive. You'll also find a soft-serve ice cream machine in the lobby. There is a full bar with small booths and barstools. When the restaurant is full, you can sometimes get a seat at the bar. The restaurant is really noisy when busy, so if possible, request one of the booths in the middle of the restaurant, just behind the hostess station. These are more quiet. Go early or go late, especially on a Friday or Saturday night if you don't like to wait. If you don't mind waiting, there is a patio outside (partially covered) with a fountain area. There's also a door into the bar so you can grab drinks while you wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyZiggyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    72
    23
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Tex-Mex!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We recently went to this location and we really enjoyed it. We had kids as young as 9 and adults as old as 34 in our party and everyone liked the food. I got the seafood enchiladas. They were delish. Get the charro beans as your side. The prices were affordable. Staff was friendly. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting some good tex-mex food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leesaleesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty darn good Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We live very close and have been going to this Gringo's (the original) since 1994ish when it was still in the old dingy white building. I would recommend this Gringo's to anybody - the service is usually very good and friendly. The food is above average - especially the BANDITO - we love the Bandito (just ask about it when you are there). The Margarita's are strong and cold. The only reason I don't give Gringo's an 'Excellent' rating is the Chips & Salsa. They chips have always seemed stale to me and the Salsa is geared towards small children and yankee's - it just isn't very spicy at all. The green sauce is not bad though. If they would upgrade the Salsa & Chips - Gringo's would become a first class TexMex joint. I still highly recommend Gringo's to anybody - just be aware that the salsa was probably made in Minnesota or Maine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The real Tex-Mex”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Gringo's is busy every night of the week, and very busy at week-ends. There are no reservations so be prepared for an hour's wait before being seated on a Friday or Saturday night. The good news is that you can wait in the bar with an excellent Margarita or even in a sitting area outside the entrance.
The menu is quite extensive with everything you would expect in a Tex-Mex restaurant. My favorite is the Seafood Enchiladas, corn tortillas with melted cheese, white wine cream sauce with sauteed shrimp and crawfish tails. My wife loves Three Amigos plus Pepe. This consists of four enchiladas, one each of beef, cheese, chicken and ground beef.
We have been to Gringo's many times and never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oystein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I was incredibly impressed with this place and location. The customer service was one of the best I have had. The food selection is plentiful, so much to choose from. The prices are decently prices, won't break the bank. The food was good. We ordered chicken enchiladas. Everything was really good. Looking forward to going back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Win M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gringos Mexican Cafe also viewed

Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Gringos Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing