We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heartbreakingly Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltgrass Steak House

Saltgrass Steak House
Ranked #25 of 229 Restaurants in Pearland
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Heartbreakingly Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We travel to Houston two or three times a year from Georgia for cancer treatment at MD Anderson. Because of our not-so-good reason for going to Houston, one of the things we look forward to on these trips is a trip down to Pearland to eat at our favorite restaurant - Saltgrass.

On our last trip in October, we were heartbreakingly disappointed. The service was sub-par and the food was not at all up to their normal standard. We've eaten here numerous times over the past three years and have never had a bad meal or service. This time was different.

- The steak delivered to our table was not the steak we ordered. When our correct steak was finally brought to our table, it was cooked rare instead of well-done as we had ordered. And the cut we got was not a quality cut of meat... it was full of gristle and fat.

- Our side orders were wrong and our topping wasn't delivered with our meal. We asked for the topping and the wrong topping was brought. We asked again but the correct topping never arrived.

- We had to ask for drinks three times and had to ask numerous times for refills (if the restaurant had been really busy, this would have been somewhat understandable. But it wasn't that busy)

- The servers were unusually curt and acted as though we were interrupting them.

Elsewhere on Tripadvisor, you'll see a glowing review from us on Saltgrass/Pearland. As mentioned, it had become our very favorite restaurant. Even among other Saltgrass steak houses we've eaten at in downtown Houston and Denver, this one has always been superior. This time was different.... don't know if they have new management that's not well trained or maybe we just hit on an off night or something.

We'll try them again next spring when we're back in Houston and hope it's back to its top shelf style. If not, we'll move on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MufeGwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good service and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My wife and I eat here fairly often. The food is good and the service has always been wonderful. They have the very best chicken fried steak I have ever eaten!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scox28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Eat here if you love food soaked in salt & butter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The menu has potential but it did not meet our expectations especially for the cost. Our steak was so salty & drenched in butter neither my husband or myself could eat half without feeling gross. The grilled shrimp was the same. I used my napkin to wipe off what I could from the shrimp but it did not really help. The service was good. The tortilla soup was good. For the menu and price my expectations were much higher than reality. We will stick with lower priced, better food Texas Roadhouse from now on.

Ps- the atmosphere is not that of a $30 steak house.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

First class service throughout. Some of the finest barbque with a variety of sauces; country style setting and good prices; lots of parking and easy access from the highway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
261 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“We had to walk out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I've bumped it up to 2 stars because we've eaten here many times without issue, but we tried dining here this past Sunday and we had to walk out. We were seated promptly, but that was about it. In the time from when we were seated to the time we walked out...my husband went to the bathroom twice, both of our children went to the bathroom, and my parents popped into the bathroom. We sat for around 20 min and nobody came by our table for anything...no "we'll be right with you"...no drink orders...no bread...no ANYTHING. They weren't busy either. A table was seated next to us about halfway through all of this and a server came to their table and was fulfilling drink orders by the time we got up and walked. We really like Saltgrass, but considering the "competition" which opened several months ago has slightly lower prices and more consistent service...we'll be giving this Saltgrass a break for a while.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HouCuseChickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltgrass Steak House also viewed

Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Pearland, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Saltgrass Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing